Data-driven performance analysis in soccer: A compilation of data science and machine learning techniques for pre-processing and knowledge discovery

Publication: Book/ReportDissertations

511 Downloads (Pure)

Abstract

Big data has proven to be of increasing influence in a wide array of decision-making and knowledge-discovery processes across multiple domains. Gathering, pre-processing and analysis of data to make decisions or in the knowledge discovery process is a non-trivial task. With increasing access to computing power, a multitude of data science techniques have emerged as problem-solving tools in many domains of society. In the last decade, a vast amount of data has been collected in the field of sports. Several labs across the world have used this data in conjugation with Machine Learning/Data Science (ML/DS) techniques to add significant value to the sports industry and academics. However, compared to the potential of the available data, only a small subset has been exploited. This is primarily due to the lack of coding/programming expertise required to get the data in a form which is optimal for building models to answer specific questions of interest. The problem of pre-processing bottleneck has partially been solved due to data resources such as OPTA, STATSBomb and FBRef.com, which provide clean tracking, event and notational data. Additionally, libraries in Python and R such as Floodlight, AMIE, and SoccerAction offer packages which streamline pre-processing and visualization steps, thus offering great access to big data analysis for domain expertise with limited coding expertise. With these developments in mind, the current thesis aims to introduce ML/DS methods such as regression, binary classification, feature engineering and k-fold cross-validation into the field of sports analytics. This can potentially provide domain-specific experts, with the necessary technical tools to exploit the rising amount of data in the sports industry.

Through published case studies, each of which addresses a specific hypothesis. The thesis explains the importance of the normalization of KPIs as a feature engineering step before statistical modelling. It also elaborates on the value of using k-fold cross-validation as a model evaluation criterion for both regression and classification problems. The thesis further emphasises the value of using multiple ML models for solving specific problems as model robustness to avoid false findings due to the bias of a single algorithm. The provided methods can potentially be applied across research in general but the field of bat and ball sports like Cricket and Baseball seems to be conducive for big data analysis using ML. This is due to their unique closed-action nature (one action, one reaction leading to a result of that action-reaction pair) as they have a lower degree of randomness as compared to invasion sports. The thesis has a few limitations due to its scope. It only covers binary classification and two different regression methods, which require comparatively low processing power. Complicated methods such as neural nets and deep learning are out of the scope of the thesis, which may potentially improve observed results. Although comprehensive, the thesis is still not an end-to-end pipeline. It covers the modelling stage of the knowledge discovery cycle and only at a match or season level. Future research needs to apply techniques outlined by the current thesis on an event or play-by-play data. Furthermore, The steps of pre-processing and visualizations need to be the focus of future research in conjugation with the findings of the current work. In conclusion, sports research needs to leverage big data for finding novel solutions to a wide array of problems across sports domains, and ML/DS methods seem to be the ideal tool for this. Specifically, the crucial steps required are the normalization of notational data, using multiple models for robustness and k-fold cross-validation for determining the out-of-sample validity of the findings. Furthermore, the thesis provides an introduction to how data science techniques and multidisciplinary approaches can help the sports industry and research.
Original languageEnglish
Place of PublicationKöln
PublisherDeutsche Sporthochschule Köln
Number of pages25
Publication statusPublished - 13.07.2023

Fingerprint

Dive into the research topics of 'Data-driven performance analysis in soccer: A compilation of data science and machine learning techniques for pre-processing and knowledge discovery'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Citation

Data-driven performance analysis in soccer: A compilation of data science and machine learning techniques for pre-processing and knowledge discovery

Publikation: Buch/BerichtDissertationsschrift

479 Downloads (Pure)

Abstract

Big Data hat sich als zunehmend einflussreich in einer Vielzahl von Entscheidungsfindungs- und Erkenntnisgewinnung in verschiedenen Bereichen erwiesen. Die Sammlung, Vorverarbeitung und Analyse von Daten zur Entscheidungsfindung oder im Erkenntnisgewinnung ist eine komplexe Aufgabe. Mit dem zunehmenden Zugang zu Rechenleistung sind eine Vielzahl von Datenwissenschaftstechniken als Problemlösungswerkzeuge in vielen Bereichen der Gesellschaft entstanden. In den letzten zehn Jahren wurde eine große Menge an Daten im Bereich des Sports gesammelt. Mehrere Labore weltweit haben diese Daten in Verbindung mit Machine Learning/Data Science (ML/DS)-Techniken genutzt, um einen erheblichen Mehrwert für die Sportindustrie und die Wissenschaft zu schaffen. Im Vergleich zum Potenzial der verfügbaren Daten wurde jedoch nur ein kleiner Teil genutzt. Dies liegt hauptsächlich an mangelnden Kenntnissen in der Programmierung, die erforderlich sind, um die Daten in einer Form zu erhalten, die optimal ist, um Modelle zur Beantwortung spezifischer Fragestellungen von Interesse zu erstellen. Das Problem des Engpasses bei der Vorverarbeitung wurde teilweise durch Datenressourcen wie OPTA, STATSBomb und FBRef.com gelöst, die saubere Tracking-, Ereignis- und Notationsdaten bereitstellen. Darüber hinaus bieten Bibliotheken in Python und R wie Floodlight, AMIE und SoccerAction Pakete an, die Vorverarbeitungs- und Visualisierungsschritte vereinfachen und damit Experten in bestimmten Bereichen mit begrenzten Codierkenntnissen einen großen Zugang zur Big Data-Analyse bieten. Vor dem Hintergrund dieser Entwicklungen zielt die vorliegende Arbeit darauf ab, ML/DS-Methoden wie Regression, binäre Klassifikation, Feature-Engineering und k-fold Kreuzvalidierung in den Bereich der Sportanalytik einzuführen. Dies kann Fachleuten in bestimmten Bereichen die notwendigen technischen Werkzeuge bieten, um die steigende Datenmenge in der Sportindustrie zu nutzen.

Durch veröffentlichte Fallstudien, die jeweils eine spezifische Hypothese behandeln, erklärt die Arbeit die Bedeutung der Normalisierung von KPIs als Schritt des Feature-Engineering vor statistischer Modellierung. Sie erläutert auch den Wert der Verwendung von k-fold Kreuzvalidierung als Modellbewertungskriterium für Regression und Klassifikationsprobleme. Die Arbeit betont weiterhin den Wert der Verwendung mehrerer ML-Modelle zur Lösung spezifischer Probleme als Modellrobustheit, um falsche Ergebnisse aufgrund von Verzerrungen eines einzelnen Algorithmus zu vermeiden. Die bereitgestellten Methoden können potenziell auf die Forschung im Allgemeinen angewendet werden, aber der Bereich der Schlag- und Ballsportarten wie Cricket und Baseball scheint für die Big-Data-Analyse unter Verwendung von ML besonders geeignet zu sein. Dies liegt an ihrer einzigartigen geschlossenen Handlungsstruktur (eine Handlung, eine Reaktion, die zu einem Ergebnis dieses Handlungs-Reaktions-Paares führt), da sie im Vergleich zu Invasionssportarten einen geringeren Grad an Zufälligkeit aufweisen. Die vorliegende Arbeit hat jedoch einige Einschränkungen aufgrund ihres Umfangs. Sie umfasst nur die binäre Klassifikation und zwei verschiedene Regressionsmethoden, die vergleichsweise geringe Rechenleistung erfordern. Komplizierte Methoden wie neuronale Netze und Deep Learning fallen außerhalb des Rahmens der Arbeit, die möglicherweise zu verbesserten Ergebnissen führen könnten. Obwohl umfassend, stellt die Arbeit immer noch keine End-to-End-Pipeline dar. Sie behandelt lediglich die Modellierungsphase des Wissensentdeckungszyklus auf Match- oder Saisonebene. Zukünftige Forschung muss die in der vorliegenden Arbeit beschriebenen Techniken auf Ereignis- oder Spiel-für-Spiel-Daten anwenden. Darüber hinaus sollten die Schritte der Vorverarbeitung und Visualisierungen im Zusammenspiel mit den Ergebnissen der aktuellen Arbeit Gegenstand zukünftiger Forschung sein. Zusammenfassend muss die Sportforschung die Möglichkeiten von Big Data nutzen, um neuartige Lösungen für eine Vielzahl von Problemen in verschiedenen Sportbereichen zu finden, wobei ML/DS-Methoden das ideale Werkzeug dafür zu sein scheinen. Insbesondere sind die Normalisierung von Notationsdaten, die Verwendung mehrerer Modelle zur Robustheit und die k-fold-Kreuzvalidierung zur Bestimmung der außerhalb des Musters liegenden Gültigkeit der Ergebnisse wichtige Schritte. Darüber hinaus gibt die Arbeit eine Einführung in die Möglichkeiten, wie Datenwissenschaftstechniken und multidisziplinäre Ansätze der Sportindustrie und -forschung helfen können.
OriginalspracheEnglisch
ErscheinungsortKöln
VerlagDeutsche Sporthochschule Köln
Seitenumfang25
PublikationsstatusVeröffentlicht - 13.07.2023

Fingerprint

Untersuchen Sie die Forschungsthemen von „Data-driven performance analysis in soccer: A compilation of data science and machine learning techniques for pre-processing and knowledge discovery“. Zusammen bilden sie einen einzigartigen Fingerprint.

Zitation