Financing nonprofit sports clubs: Perspectives on core income sources and financial problems

Publication: Book/ReportDissertations

96 Downloads (Pure)

Abstract

Nonprofit sports clubs build the basis of sports systems in many European and overseas countries, providing a main pillar of mass sports, competitive sports, and health sports offers. To fulfil their mission and goals, nonprofit sports clubs must carefully manage their financial resources to avoid potential financial problems. Despite the importance of nonprofit sports clubs as relevant actors for the welfare of society, research on the finances of nonprofit sports clubs is scarce.
As membership associations, sports clubs rely to a large extent on membership fees. These fees are complemented by further revenue from donations and public subsidies. Together, these three income sources are summed up under the so-called non-material area and can be regarded as the core financial resources of nonprofit sports clubs. To address the research gap regarding the finances of nonprofit sports clubs, the purpose of this dissertation is to examine, first, which factors are related to the reception and amount of nonprofit sports clubs’ key financial revenue sources, and second, how perceived financial problems can be explained based on objective financial measures and in times of crisis.
The two overarching research questions are investigated in five quantitative studies, making use of data from a longitudinal study among nonprofit sports clubs in Germany, the “Sport Development Report”. The studies use different theoretical approaches from nonprofit economics, financial management, and organisational capacity, which can be summed up under the overarching framework of benefits theory for nonprofit finance adapted to the context of nonprofit sports clubs.
The results suggest that various different factors are relevant to the three core revenue sources and perceived financial problems. Some of these factors, e.g., competitive sport, youth promotion, and sports facilities, are relevant elements for all three income sources, whereas other factors, e.g., a commercial orientation, is mainly negatively related to donations. Additionally, it needs to be considered in the financial management of clubs that some factors are related to the income sources and simultaneously to perceived financial problems, e.g., revenue diversification.
The dissertation contributes theoretically and empirically to the nonprofit finance literature of a specific type of nonprofit organisations, namely nonprofit sports clubs. Furthermore, the dissertation has practical relevance for the management of nonprofit sports clubs as the findings help sports clubs manage and optimise their financial resources. Moreover, the dissertation provides valuable implications for stakeholders with a collective interest in sports clubs’ financial health and effective sport programme delivery, such as sports associations, federations, and sports policymakers.
Original languageEnglish
Place of PublicationKöln
PublisherDeutsche Sporthochschule Köln
Number of pages206
Publication statusPublished - 2023

Fingerprint

Dive into the research topics of 'Financing nonprofit sports clubs: Perspectives on core income sources and financial problems'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Citation

Financing nonprofit sports clubs: Perspectives on core income sources and financial problems

Publikation: Buch/BerichtDissertationsschrift

116 Downloads (Pure)

Abstract

Gemeinnützige Sportvereine bilden die Basis der Sportsysteme in vielen europäischen Ländern wie auch weltweit und stellen eine wichtige Säule des Breiten-, Leistungs- und Gesundheitssports dar. Um ihre Mission und Ziele erfüllen zu können, müssen die Sportvereine ihre finanziellen Ressourcen sorgfältig managen, um mögliche finanzielle Probleme zu vermeiden. Trotz ihrer Bedeutung als relevante Akteure für die Gesellschaft und das Gemeinwohl, fehlt es an Forschung zur Finanzierung von gemeinnützigen Sportvereinen.
Als Mitgliedsorganisationen sind Sportvereine in hohem Maße auf Mitgliedsbeiträge angewiesen. Ergänzt werden diese Beiträge durch weitere Einnahmequellen wie Spenden und öffentliche Zuschüsse. Diese drei Einnahmequellen werden unter dem ideellen Bereich zusammengefasst und können als die zentralen finanziellen Ressourcen von Sportvereinen angesehen werden. Um die Forschungslücke bezüglich der Finanzen von gemeinnützigen Sportvereinen zu schließen, wird in dieser Dissertation erstens untersucht, welche Faktoren mit dem Erhalt und der Höhe der wichtigsten Einnahmequellen von Sportvereinen zusammenhängen, und zweitens, wie wahrgenommene finanzielle Probleme anhand objektiver finanzieller Kennzahlen und in Krisenzeiten erklärt werden können.
Die beiden übergeordneten Forschungsfragen werden in fünf quantitativen Studien untersucht. Hierbei wird auf Daten des „Sportentwicklungsberichts“ zurückgegriffen, einer längsschnittlich angelegten Studie zur Untersuchung von Sportvereinen in Deutschland. Die fünf Studien der Dissertation verwenden unterschiedliche theoretische Ansätze aus der Nonprofit-Ökonomie, dem Finanzmanagement und dem Konzept der organisationalen Kapazität. Diese Ansätze lassen sich unter dem übergreifenden Rahmen der Nutzentheorie für die Nonprofit-Finanzierung, angepasst auf den Sportvereinskontext, zusammenfassen.
Die Ergebnisse der Studien zeigen, dass verschiedene Faktoren für die drei Haupteinnahmequellen und die wahrgenommenen finanziellen Probleme von Bedeutung sind. Einige dieser Faktoren, z.B. Leistungssport, Jugendförderung und Sportstätten, sind für alle drei Einnahmequellen relevant, während andere Faktoren, beispielsweise eine kommerzielle Orientierung, hauptsächlich negativ mit dem Erhalt von Spenden verbunden sind. Darüber hinaus ist beim Management der Vereinsfinanzen zu berücksichtigen, dass einige Faktoren mit den Einnahmequellen und gleichzeitig mit finanziellen Problemen zusammenhängen, wie z.B. der Grad der Diversifizierung der Einnahmen.
Die vorliegende Dissertation leistet einen theoretischen und empirischen Beitrag zur Nonprofit-Finanzierungsliteratur für einen bestimmten Typ von Nonprofit-Organisationen, nämlich gemeinnützige Sportvereine. Darüber hinaus hat die Dissertation praktische Relevanz für das Management von gemeinnützigen Sportvereinen. Die Ergebnisse können Sportvereinen helfen, ihre finanziellen Ressourcen zu managen und zu optimieren. Zudem liefert die Dissertation wertvolle Implikationen für verschiedene Gruppen, die ein kollektives Interesse an der finanziellen Stabilität von Sportvereinen und der effektiven Durchführung von Sportprogrammen haben, wie z.B. Sportverbände und Sportbünde sowie die Sportpolitik.
OriginalspracheEnglisch
ErscheinungsortKöln
VerlagDeutsche Sporthochschule Köln
Seitenumfang206
PublikationsstatusVeröffentlicht - 2023

Fingerprint

Untersuchen Sie die Forschungsthemen von „Financing nonprofit sports clubs: Perspectives on core income sources and financial problems“. Zusammen bilden sie einen einzigartigen Fingerprint.

Zitation