Together on the Field, United off of it? Defining, Mapping and Understanding Sport for Social Cohesion Programmes in Europe

Publication: Book/ReportDissertations

85 Downloads (Pure)

Abstract

Social inequalities, changing demographic profiles, ageing populations, and the structural transformation of economies have posed significant challenges to numerous European communities. Recognising these converging trends and the need for holistic development approaches, policymakers, governments, and community programmes have increasingly shifted their attention towards supporting and developing social cohesion. Sport, in particular, has been increasingly called upon to play a role in achieving social cohesion objectives. Due to its popular appeal, relatively low cost, and interactive nature, sport is understood as a potential vehicle to foster social cohesion and contribute to broader social development. Indeed, within the burgeoning sport for development (SFD) area, social cohesion is recognised as a core thematic focus within research and programmes alike.
Despite the growing recognition and support for social cohesion activities, there remain significant debates and gaps in sport and beyond. Specifically, there are important gaps between our theoretical understandings of social cohesion and actual practice in sport for social cohesion. This gap manifests itself in three ways. First, even with the multitude of definitions for social cohesion, these definitions do not necessarily reflect the needs, expectations or understanding of practitioners and participants in different contexts. Numerous researchers suggest that there is a disconnect between formal definitions of social cohesion and how the concept is understood by community members, programme managers or programme participants. Second, we have limited knowledge about the organisations delivering programmes and the approaches within those programmes. Though the field of sport for development is becoming better understood and mapped, the full range and number of organisations delivering sport and social cohesion activities remain unknown, and there is limited information concerning practices employed in the field. Finally, though increasing resources are being invested in sport and social cohesion programming, there is a lack of evidence regarding the impact of these programmes, and the process through which these programmes generate social cohesion remains poorly understood.
Against this background, the following doctoral dissertation seeks to build on the current knowledge and relevance of social cohesion and sport. Specifically, it aims to contribute to the gaps and debates outlined above by engaging in a multi-method study of literature and qualitative research within programmes across Europe. In particular, document analysis, surveys, fieldwork and interviews are used to generate data and analysis is conducted through a variety of more critical or constructive qualitative techniques.
From this, we find that programmes in Europe adopt a fairly consistent view of social cohesion, with specific focus given to dimensions of social relations, common good, sense of identity and acceptance of diversity. To support these dimensions, programmes engage in a number of common practices, including regular sport activities, mixed group activities, civic participation, life skill development and participatory approaches. However, within these practices, there is a distinct focus on individual-level interventions and specific marginalised sub-groups. This individual-level focus on marginalised groups reinforces notions that these groups are primarily responsible for their condition and “invisibilises” the responsibility of people or institutions in positions of privilege while also helping mask structural inequalities. Thus, to conclude, this dissertation proposes ways forward for programmes, policy and research to support mor
Original languageEnglish
Place of PublicationKöln
PublisherDeutsche Sporthochschule Köln
Number of pages75
Publication statusPublished - 23.06.2023

Fingerprint

Dive into the research topics of 'Together on the Field, United off of it? Defining, Mapping and Understanding Sport for Social Cohesion Programmes in Europe'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Citation

Together on the Field, United off of it? Defining, Mapping and Understanding Sport for Social Cohesion Programmes in Europe

Publikation: Buch/BerichtDissertationsschrift

101 Downloads (Pure)

Abstract

Soziale Ungleichheiten, sich verändernde demografische Profile, alternde Bevölkerungen und die strukturelle Transformation der Volkswirtschaften haben zahlreiche europäische Gemeinden vor erhebliche Herausforderungen gestellt. Angesichts dieser konvergierenden Trends und der Notwendigkeit ganzheitlicher Entwicklungsansätze haben Politiker, Regierungen und Gemeindeprogramme ihre Aufmerksamkeit zunehmend auf die Unterstützung und Entwicklung des sozialen Zusammenhalts gelenkt. Insbesondere der Sport wird zunehmend eine Rolle bei der Erreichung von Zielen des sozialen Zusammenhalts gefordert. Aufgrund seiner Popularität, seiner relativ geringen Kosten und seines interaktiven Charakters wird Sport als potenzielles Instrument zur Förderung des sozialen Zusammenhalts und als Beitrag zu einer umfassenderen sozialen Entwicklung angesehen. Tatsächlich wird der soziale Zusammenhalt im Bereich Sportentwicklung (SFD) als zentraler thematischer Schwerpunkt sowohl in der Forschung als auch in Programmen anerkannt.
Trotz der wachsenden Anerkennung und Unterstützung für Aktivitäten zur Förderung des sozialen Zusammenhalts, gibt es noch immer erhebliche Debatten und Lücken im Sport und darüber hinaus. Insbesondere gibt es wichtige Lücken zwischen unserem theoretischen Verständnis des sozialen Zusammenhalts und der tatsächlichen Praxis im Bereich Sport für den sozialen Zusammenhalt. Diese Lücke zeigt sich auf drei Arten. Erstens spiegeln selbst bei der Vielzahl von Definitionen für den sozialen Zusammenhalt diese Definitionen nicht unbedingt die Bedürfnisse, Erwartungen oder das Verständnis von Praktikern und Teilnehmern in verschiedenen Kontexten wider. Zahlreiche Forscher weisen darauf hin, dass es eine Diskrepanz zwischen den formalen Definitionen von sozialem Zusammenhalt und dem Verständnis des Konzepts durch Gemeindemitglieder, Programmleiter oder Programmteilnehmer gibt. Zweitens haben wir nur begrenztes Wissen über die Organisationen, die Programme durchführen, und die Ansätze innerhalb dieser Programme. Obwohl das Feld Sport für Entwicklung besser verstanden und kartiert wird, ist die gesamte Bandbreite und Anzahl der Organisationen, die Sport- und Sozialzusammenhalt-Aktivitäten durchführen, unbekannt, und es gibt nur begrenzte Informationen über die in diesem Bereich angewandten Praktiken. Schließlich gibt es trotz der zunehmenden Investitionen in Sport- und Sozialzusammenhalt(s)-Programme einen Mangel an Nachweisen über die Auswirkungen dieser Programme, und der Prozess, durch den diese Programme sozialen Zusammenhalt generieren, ist schlecht verstanden.
Vor diesem Hintergrund zielt die vorliegende Doktorarbeit darauf ab, auf dem aktuellen Wissen und der Relevanz von sozialem Zusammenhalt und Sport aufzubauen. Konkret soll sie dazu beitragen, die oben beschriebenen Lücken und Debatten durch eine multimethodische Studie von Literatur und qualitativer Forschung innerhalb von Programmen in ganz Europa zu untersuchen. Insbesondere werden Dokumentenanalysen, Umfragen, Feldarbeit und Interviews eingesetzt, um Daten zu generieren, wobei die Analyse durch eine Vielzahl kritischer oder konstruktiver qualitativer Techniken durchgeführt wird.
Daraus ergibt sich, dass die Programme in Europa eine ziemlich konsistente Sichtweise auf sozialen Zusammenhalt haben, wobei ein spezifischer Fokus auf den Dimensionen sozialer Beziehungen, Gemeinwohl, Identitätsgefühl und Akzeptanz von Vielfalt liegt. Um diese Dimensionen zu unterstützen, setzen Programme eine Reihe von gemeinsamen Praktiken ein, einschließlich regelmäßiger Sportaktivitäten, gemischter Gruppenaktivitäten, Bürgerbeteiligung, Lebenskompetenzentwicklung und partizipative Ansätze. Innerhalb dieser Praktiken liegt jedoch ein deutlicher Fokus auf individuellen Interventionen und bestimmten marginalisierten Untergruppen. Dieser individuelle Fokus auf marginalisierte Gruppen verstärkt die Vorstellung, dass diese Gruppen hauptsächlich für ihre Situation verantwortlich sind und "invisibilisiert" die Verantwortung von Menschen oder Institutionen in privilegierter Position, während sie auch strukturelle Ungleichheiten verschleiert. Daher schlägt diese Dissertation abschließend Wege vor, um Programme, Politik und Forschung zu unterstützen und strukturelle oder transformationsorientierte Ansätze zu fördern.

OriginalspracheEnglisch
ErscheinungsortKöln
VerlagDeutsche Sporthochschule Köln
Seitenumfang75
PublikationsstatusVeröffentlicht - 23.06.2023

Fingerprint

Untersuchen Sie die Forschungsthemen von „Together on the Field, United off of it? Defining, Mapping and Understanding Sport for Social Cohesion Programmes in Europe“. Zusammen bilden sie einen einzigartigen Fingerprint.

Zitation