Sport Informatics and Sports Games Research

Organisational unit: Department

Profile information

In the area of computer science in sports and team/racket sport research questions regarding Big Data in sports (especially in high-class football) and especially in the area of model formation, pattern recognition and simulation of team sports are posed. This includes the development in the area of data analysis and data visualization as well as the application of modern data bank systems (Relational und NoSQL).

The expertise lies at the intersection between movement sciences, computer science in sports and sport psychology. Cooperation partners are from the economics and high-performance sport sector, amongst others.

Versatile technical equipment (3D-presentation, mobile eye-tracker) makes it possible to test relevant, sport-informatic, movement-scientific, and sport-psychological questions in the respective team and racket sports. Of special research interest are genuine game analysis possibilities in high-performance sport (position data, virtual reality, augmented reality), handling of Big Data (pattern recognition, classification amongst others), motivation and attention research, creativity and performance promotion in upcoming high-class sports (exceeding team and racket sports in the area of ball school, snow school, adventure movement) as well as sport specific sport psychological diagnostics and intervention (memory, attention, perception).

Generally the projects not only aim at expanding the theoretical fundametals in the mentioned research areas (DFG), but they can also be characterized as application oriented (DFL; BISp) and thus service oriented.

Currently five DFG-projects are carried out in the areas computer science in sports and psychology:

  • since 2016 | DFG-Förderung: Neuronal mechanisms of creative solutions in complex environments [DFG]
  • since 2016 | DFG-Förderung: Finding appropriate and original solutions: An investigation into personal and situational factors that influence motor problem solving and creativity [DFG] 
  • 2014 - 2017 | DFG-Förderung: Do you know why you kick where you do? An investigation into the simultaneous engagement of distinct modes of (un-)conscious processing in the laboratory and in a natural action task [DFG] 
  • 2012 - 2017 | DFG-Förderung: Inattentional Blindness and Attention: Exploring the Mechanisms Underlying Failures of Awareness [DFG] 
  • 2008 - 2017 | DFG-Förderung: Simulation of interaction patterns and simulative effectiveness analysis of creative plays in team sports by means of neural networks [DFG]

 

Three projects wird DFB and DFL:

  • 2017 - 2018 | Zertifikatsstudiengang: DFB-WM-Scouting 2018 [more]
  • seit 2016 | DFL-Förderung: Positionsdaten im Profi-Fußball [more]
  • 2015 - 2017 DFL-Förderung: Schiedsrichter-Evaluation im Profi-Fußball [more]

 

Further research funding:

  • 2017 - 2019 | Förderung durch das Ministerium für Gesundheit, Emanzipation, Pflege und Alter des Landes NRW. Identifikation von Faktoren, die die Gefahren von Glücksspielsucht bei Sportwetten vergrößern und die Entwicklung von Präventionsmaßnahmen, um die Glücksspielsucht bei Sportwetten zu vermeiden
  • 2017 - 2018 | BISp-Förderung: Arbeitsgedächtnis im Sport [more]
  • 2016 - 2017 | BISp-Förderung: Koordiniertes Blickverhalten: Ein Service-Forschungsprojekt beim Beachvolleyball zur Verbesserung der Entscheidungsfindung von Spitzensportlern [more]
  • 2015 - 2017 | BISp-Förderung: Entwicklung und Evaluation eines instruktionsbasierten Motivationsprogramms zur Optimierung von Leistung im Hochleistungssport [more] 
The university curriculum consists of team/racket sport-specific contents on theory and praxis with special connection to the mentioned research activities of the institute. The students have the possibility to receive numerous excercise instructor and trainer licences in different sports. Sport-informatic courses complement the wide spectrum with current subjects of information and media technology. Student in bachelor, master and pedagogics courses (Distribution of thesis papers) as well as student apprentices can profit from the institute’s orientation. 

ID: 2946040

View graph of relations

Abteilung Sportinformatik und Sportspielforschung

Organisation: Abteilung

  • Portraitfoto

Kontaktinformationen

Am Sportpark Müngersdorf 6
50933
Köln
  • Telefon: +49 221 4982-4320

Organisationsprofil

Auf dem Gebiet der Sportinformatik und Sportspielforschung werden Fragestellungen zum Thema Big Data im Sport (vor allem Profi-Fußball) insbesondere im Bereich der Modellbildung, Mustererkennung und Simulation von Mannschaftsspielen thematisiert. Dazu gehören neben Entwicklungen im Bereich der Datenanalyse und Datenvisualisierung auch die Anwendung moderner Datenbanksysteme (Relational und NoSQL).

Die Expertise liegt an der Schnittstelle zwischen Bewegungswissenschaft, Sportinformatik und Sportpsychologie. Kooperationspartner kommen u.a. aus der Wirtschaft und dem Leistungssport.

Verschiedene technische Ausstattung (u. a. 3D-Präsentationen, mobile Eye-Tracker) ermöglicht es, relevanten sportinformatischen, bewegungswissenschaftlichen, und sportpsychologischen Fragestellungen in den einzelnen Sportspielen - vor allem experimentell - nachzugehen. Von besonderem Forschungsinteresse sind neuartige Spielanalysemöglichkeiten im Leistungssport (Positionsdaten, Virtuell Reality, Augmented Reality), der Umgang mit Big Data (u. a. Mustererkennung, Klassifikation), die Motivations- und Aufmerksamkeitsforschung, die Kreativitäts- und Leistungsförderung im Nachwuchsleistungsbereich (sportspielübergreifende Ballschule, Schneeschule, Abenteuer Bewegung) sowie die sportartspezifisch ausgerichtete sportpsychologische Diagnostik und Intervention (Gedächtnis, Aufmerksamkeit, Wahrnehmung).

Insgesamt zielen die Projekte nicht nur darauf ab, die theoretischen Grundlagenkenntnisse in genannten Forschungsgebieten zu erweitern (DFG), sondern lassen sich auch als anwendungsorientiert (DFL; BISp) und damit als dienstleistungskompatibel charakterisieren.

Zurzeit laufen fünf DFG-Projekte in den Bereichen Informatik und Psychologie:

  • 2016 - 2019 DFG-Förderung: Neuronale Mechanismen kreativer Lösungen in komplexen Aufgabenstellungen [DFG]
  • 2016 - 2017 DFG-Förderung: Finding appropriate and original solutions: An investigation into personal and situational factors that influence motor problem solving and creativity [DFG]
  • 2015 - 2018 DFG-Förderung: Simulation von Interaktionsmustern und simulative Wirksamkeitsanalyse kreativer Spielzüge im Sportspiel mittels Neuronaler Netze [DFG]
  • 2013 - 2017 DFG-Förderung: Inattentional Blindness [DFG]
  • 2014 - 2017 DFG-Förderung: Do you know why you kick where you do? An investigation into the simultaneous engagement of distinct modes of conscious processing in a natural action task. [DFG]
Zurzeit laufen drei Projekte, die vom Deutschen Fußball Bund (DFB) und von der Deutschen Fußball-Liga (DFL) unterstützt werden:
  • Zertifikatsstudiengang: DFB-WM-Scouting 2018 [more]
  • 2016 DFL-Förderung: Positionsdaten im Profi-Fußball [more]
  • 2015 - 2017 DFL-Förderung: Schiedsrichter-Evaluation im Profi-Fußball [more]

In der Lehre werden sportspielspezifische Inhalte in Theorie und Praxis mit besonderem Bezug zu den genannten Forschungsaktivitäten des Instituts vermittelt, wobei Studierende die Möglichkeit haben, zahlreiche Übungsleiter- und Trainerlizenzen in verschiedenen Sportarten zu erwerben. Sportinformatorische Lehrveranstaltungen ergänzen das breite Spektrum mit aktuellen Themen der Informations- und Medientechnologie. Auch Bachelor-/Master- und Lehramt-Studierende (Vergabe von Abschlussarbeitsthemen) sowie Praktikantinnen und Praktikanten können von der internationalen Ausrichtung des Instituts profitieren.

ID: 2946040

Beziehungsdiagramm anzeigen