Institute of Exercise Training and Sport Informatics

Organisational unit: Institute

  • Profile photo

Contact information

Am Sportpark Müngersdorf 6
50933
Köln
  • Phone: +49 221 4982-4320

Profile information

Since March 1st, 2017 the Institute of Cognitive and Team/Racket Sport Research and the Institute of Training Sciences and Sport Informatics have merged and are now the Institute of Training Sciences and Sport Informatics.

The expertise of the new Institute of Training Sciences and Sport Informatics at the german Sport University Cologne lies in the areas of computer science in sports and team/racket sport sciences (Department I, head: Univ.-Prof. Dr. D. Memmert), cognitive and team/racket sport research (department II, head: Jun.-Prof.`in Dr. S. Hüttermann), training sciences (department III, Prof. Dr. L. Donath) as well as performance physiology (department IV, n.n.). Hence, the new institute offers interdisciplinary and transdisciplinary, international fundamental scientific (DFG amongst others) and application oriented (DFG, DFL, BISP amongst others) research.

In the area of computer science in sports and team/racket sport research questions regarding Big Data in sports (especially in high-class football) and especially in the area of model formation, pattern recognition and simulation of team sports are posed. This includes the development in the area of data analysis and data visualization as well as the application of modern data bank systems (Relational und NoSQL). 
In the area of cognitive and team/racket sport research questions regarding diagnostics, training and simulation of cognitive performance, especially in the area of team/racket sports are posed. Cognitive mechanisms (e.g. perception/anticipation/attention/creativity and cognitive processes) are analyzed in the lab as well as in field settings.

In the area of training sciences the institute will work on subjects such as diagnostics and training of physical performance with special expertise in planning, the concept and evaluation of training-relevant intervention studies in health and leisure contexts. The professorship of this department will be filled in 2017.

The professorship of the department IV will soon be announced and will focus on the area of physiological performance diagnostics and performance optimization through training processes in high-performance sports.

International cooperation partners, for example with Australia, Brazil, England, Italy, Canada, New Zealand, Austria, Spain and the USA, enable the promotion of upcoming scientists.

The Institute of Training Sciences and Sport Informatics  supervises the bachelor course 'sport and performance', the master course 'Exercise Science & Coaching' as well as the further master course 'game analysis'.

ID: 3046368

View graph of relations

Institut für Trainingswissenschaft und Sportinformatik

Organisation: Institut

  • Portraitfoto

Kontaktinformationen

Am Sportpark Müngersdorf 6
50933
Köln
  • Telefon: +49 221 4982-4320

Organisationsprofil

Seit dem 01.03.2017 haben sich die Institute für Kognitions- und Sportspielforschung sowie für Trainingswissenschaft und Sportinformatik zusammengeschlossen unter dem neuen Institutsnamen Institut für Trainingswissenschaft und Sportinformatik.

Die Expertise des neuen Instituts für Trainingswissenschaft und Sportinformatik der Deutschen Sporthochschule Köln wird in den Bereichen Sportinformatik und Sportspielforschung (Abteilung I, Leiter: Univ.-Prof. Dr. D. Memmert), Kognitions- und Sportspielforschung (Abteilung II, Leiterin: Jun.-Prof.`in Dr. S. Hüttermann), Trainingswissenschaft (Abteilung III, Prof. Dr. L. Donath) sowie Leistungsphysiologie (Abteilung IV, n.n.) liegen und bietet damit interdisziplinäre, aber auch transdisziplinäre, internationale grundlagenwissenschaftliche (u. a. DFG) und anwendungsorientierte (u. a. DFL, DFB, BISp) Forschung an.

Auf dem Gebiet der Sportinformatik und Sportspielforschung werden Fragestellungen zum Thema Big Data im Sport (vor allem Profi-Fußball) insbesondere im Bereich der Modellbildung, Mustererkennung und Simulation von Mannschaftsspielen thematisiert. Dazu gehören neben Entwicklungen im Bereich der Datenanalyse und Datenvisualisierung auch die Anwendung moderner Datenbanksysteme (Relational und NoSQL).

Auf dem Gebiet der Kognitions- und Sportspielforschung werden Fragestellungen der Diagnostik, des Trainings und der Simulation der kognitiven Leistungsfähigkeit, insbesondere im Bereich der Sportspiele bearbeitet. Kognitive Mechanismen (z. B. Wahrnehmung-, Antizipation-, Aufmerksamkeit-, Kreativitäts- und Gedächtnisprozesse) werden sowohl im Labor als auch in feldnahen Settings analysiert.

Auf dem Gebiet der Trainingswissenschaften wird sich das Institut mit Fragestellungen der Diagnostik und des Trainings der körperlichen Leistungsfähigkeit mit besonderer Expertise in der Planung, Konzeption und Evaluation von trainingsbezogenen Interventionsstudien im gesundheits- und freizeitbezogenen Kontext beschäftigen. Die Professur der Abteilung wird 2017 besetzt.

Die Professur der Abteilung IV wird demnächst ausgeschrieben und soll den Arbeitsschwerpunkt im Bereich der physiologischen Leistungsdiagnostik und der Leistungsoptimierung im Leistungs-/Hochleistungssport durch Trainingsprozesse haben.

Internationale Kooperationspartner, beispielsweise in Australien, Brasilien, England, Italien, Kanada, Neuseeland, Österreich, Spanien und den USA, ermöglichen es, NachwuchswissenschaftlerInnen optimal zu fördern.

ID: 3046368

Beziehungsdiagramm anzeigen