Impacts of the social program "Just Football" on the participating sport clubs

Project: Funded by Internal Resources

Research Objective

The social program “Just Football” is a joint initiative of the chemical company Bayer and the German Football Association in cooperation with the associated Sepp Herberger Foundation. It aims to include youth with intellectual disability better into the society by sport and in particular football. The intention of this study is to analyse the indirect impacts of the social engagements on the participating sport clubs.

Method

Considering the state of research and the defined research objectives the study has a strong explorative character. In focus group interviews board members of the participating clubs were encouraged to discuss the interested issues. This method has the advantage to gather information, opinions, perspectives and experience in a short time. A weak structured theme catalogue was the basis the focus group discussion which enables the participants to discuss openly as well as to make sure that the discussion is within the scope of the topic.

Key Findings

Participating in the social program „Just Football“ increased the awareness of the sport clubs as well as improved the club’s image. Positive reciprocal effects could be obtained in particular by the club’s stakeholders. Sponsors of the club considered the participation of the club in the social program “Just Football” as a confirmation for their engagement in the sport club, for example. Furthermore, the identification of the club members has been increased and so the club could bond their members. The participation in the social program also provided some challenges for the clubs. Finally, these challenges were smaller than expected, so that all clubs agree to recommend the participation in the social program “Just Football”.
StatusFinished
Life span01.09.1118.12.11

ID: 549675

View graph of relations

Auswirkungen des sozialen Engagements von "Einfach Fußball" auf Sportvereine

Projekt: Eigenfinanziert

Forschungsziel

Mit dem Programm „Einfach Fußball“, welches eine gemeinsame Initiative der Bayer AG und des Deutschen Fußball-Bundes zusammen mit der Sepp Herberger-Stiftung ist, werden Geistig- und Lernbehinderte mit Hilfe von Sport stärker in die Gesellschaft integriert. Das Ziel dieser Studie ist es, die indirekten Wirkungen des sozialen Programms „Einfach Fußball“ auf die teilnehmenden Sportvereine zu untersuchen.

Methode

Unter Berücksichtigung des Forschungsstandes und der aufgezeigten Ziele hat diese Untersuchung einen stark explorativen Charakter. Als methodischer Zugang wurde eine Gruppendiskussion mit Vorstandsvertretern der beteiligten Sportvereine gewählt, da diese Form es ermöglicht, in kurzer Zeit ein breites Spektrum an Meinungen, Ansichten und Erfahrungen zu gewinnen. Grundlage für die Gruppendiskussion bildete ein schwach strukturierter Themenkatalog, der es ermöglichte, dass die Teilnehmer sehr frei und offen diskutieren konnten und zugleich sicherstellte, dass die Diskussion in einem vorgesehenen thematischen Rahmen bleibt.

Zentrale Ergebnisse

Das Programm „Einfach Fußball“ steigerte die Bekanntheit und Sympathie der Sportvereine und trug zu einem besseren Image bei. Zu positiven Rückkopplungsprozessen kam es im Speziellen bei den Anspruchsgruppen der Vereine. So wurde beispielsweise die Teilnahme an „Einfach Fußball“ von Sponsoren und Förderern als Bestätigung für deren Engagement in den betreffenden Sportvereinen genannt. Des Weiteren konnte die Identifikation der Mitglieder mit ihrem Sportverein erhöht werden und damit der Sportverein seine Vereinsmitglieder stärker an sich binden. Die Programmteilnahme stellte die Vereine aber auch vor Herausforderungen, die letztendlich jedoch geringer ausfielen als erwartet, so dass alle Vereine die Teilnahme an „Einfach Fußball“ weiterempfehlen können.
StatusAbschlussdatum
Laufzeit01.09.1118.12.11

ID: 549675

Beziehungsdiagramm anzeigen