CSR-Score Card

Project: Funded by Third Parties

Research Objective

Based on Jean-Michel Aulas, the last president of the G-14, call for a “need to improve our measurement and evaluation of our social and community investments” (G-14, 2008, p. 5) this research project aims to identify football club’s benefits of CSR activities and how they can be measured. In a second step, the CSR activities are intended to be implemented in the existing controlling software of the football club SV Werder Bremen.

Method

Semi structured interviews with the football club’s management board were conducted and evaluated. Further, key issues identified by Hovemann et al. (2009) were tested in an online survey by the CSR managers of the Bundesliga clubs (n=17). Besides gathering secondary data from the football club SV Werder Bremen, the researchers conducted an anonymous, standardized online survey among fans (n=1,625), club members (n=760), participants in the club’s social projects (n=315), partners (n=163), and employees (n=57).

Key Findings

The research results show that regarding strategic CSR measurement, the CSR Performance Scorecard reveals both slight effects, as well as clear potentials for improving the social involvement of a professional sports club. It provides evidence that the football club benefits from increased membership, increased brand loyalty and greater volunteer commitment from club members and supporters. Introducing the CSRPS into the CSR management of the German Bundesliga club SV Werder Bremen resulted in a more strategic approach to CSR.
StatusNot started

ID: 426819

View graph of relations

CSR-Score Card

Projekt: Finanziert durch Drittmittel

Forschungsziel

Basierend auf Jean-Michel Aulas, letzter G-14 Präsident, Forderung nach einer Verbesserung der Messung und Bewertung unserer Investitionen für die Gesellschaft und die Gemeinschaft (G-14, 2008) hat sich dieses Forschungsprojekt zum Ziel gesetzt, den Nutzen der CSR-Aktivitäten für Fußballvereine zu identifizieren und diesen zu messen. In einem zweiten Schritt sollen die CSR-Maßnahmen in eine bestehende Controlling-Software des Fußballklubs SV Werder Bremen implementiert werden.

Methode

Dazu wurden teilstrukturierte Tiefeninterviews mit dem Management durchgeführt und ausgewertet. Die von Hovemann et al. (2009) identifizierten Schlüsselgrößen wurden in einer Online-Umfrage von den CSR-Managern der Fußball-Bundesliga (n=17) noch einmal validiert. Neben Sekundärdaten des Fußballklubs SV Werder Bremen wurden Primärdaten aus seiner anonymen, standardisierten Online-Umfrage unter Fans (n=1.625), Vereinsmitgliedern (n=760), Teilnehmenden der sozial Projekte (n=315), Partnern (n=163) und Mitarbeitern (n=57) berücksichtigt.

Zentrale Ergebnisse

Die Ergebnisse der Untersuchung zeigen, dass die CSR Performance Scorecard im Rahmen der Messung von strategischen CSR-Maßnahmen sowohl kleine Effekte aufzeigen kann, als auch das klare Potential von Sportvereinen zu verbessertem sozialen Engagement erkenntlich macht. Die Studie belegt ferner, dass Fußballvereine von zunehmenden Mitgliederzahlen, erhöhter Markenloyalität sowie größerer Bereitschaft zu freiwilligen Engagement durch Vereinsmitglieder und Fans profitieren. Insgesamt führte die Einführung der CSR Performance Scorecard in das CSR-Management des Fußballbundesligisten SV Werder Bremen zu einer stärkeren strategischen Ausrichtung von CSR.
StatusNicht begonnen

ID: 426819

Beziehungsdiagramm anzeigen