DFL Positionsdaten

Project: Funded by Third Parties

Key Findings

The modern match analysis comprises more than only the evaluation of a duel quote or the kilometers covered by now -because it became clear that the data does neither determine a victory nor a defeat. The exact detection of the position data of every player and each ball enables significantly complex analysis with innovative key performance indices.
The Institute of Cognition and Team/ Racket Sport Research of the German Sport University Cologne analyzed the position data of 50 players of the German Bundesliga season in 2014/2015 The generated 11.160 performance values thereby were evaluated with the special devolved analyzing tool SOCCER. SOCCER combines conventional data analysis, dynamic condition-event-modelling and artificial neural networks. Events like ball winning or ball loss are thereby invoiced by the position of the player or the ball.
Here, among others, the evaluation of the space performance brings substantial results. A closer look on the games, which were won with a difference of two goals at least, shows that the winning teams achieve significantly higher scores in playmaking especially. Furthermore, they have a higher score in the passes played passed by the opponents, they quickly compact space after losing the ball and when they attack they also create more space with passes played inside the attacking zone and inside the opponent’s penalty area.
Also the performances of all winning and losing teams were compared to each other. Winning teams have an explicit advantage for all passes played between and inside the defense zone and midfield as well as for vertically played passes in the attacking zone. On average the face less opponents. Furthermore, winning teams play more passes played passed by the opponents from defense to midfield.
Moreover, teams located in the upper and in the bottom third of the league table were compared to each other. The supposedly better teams controlled more space in the attacking zone an in midfield. Here, especially the playmaking plays a decisive role. The results of good playmaking are more passes played passed by the opponents as well as more space gained and a better control of the space in the attacking zone. Successful teams compact space more quickly after losing the ball.
These new results serve as a support to the work of professional squads in the Bundesliga, youth development in youth high-performance centers and trainer education.
StatusFinished
Life span01.01.1431.12.15

ID: 1267641

Documents

View graph of relations

DFL: Umfassende Bestandsanalyse zur Nutzung von Positionsdaten sowie eine exemplarischen Leistungsstandanalyse des deutschen Profifußballs

Projekt: Finanziert durch Drittmittel

Zentrale Ergebnisse

Die moderne Spielanalyse umfasst mittlerweile mehr als die Auswertung von Zweikampfquote oder zurückgelegten Kilometern – denn es hat sich herausgestellt, dass diese Daten nicht über Sieg oder Niederlage entscheiden. Die genaue Erfassung der Positionsdaten jedes Spielers und des Balles ermöglicht deutlich komplexere Analysen mit neuartigen Key Performance Indizes.

Das Institut für Kognitions- und Sportspielforschung der Deutschen Sporthochschule Köln analysierte die Positionsdaten von 50 Spielen der Fußballbundesligasaison 2014/15.Die so erzeugten 11.160 Leistungswerte wurden mit dem eigens entwickelten Analyse-Tool SOCCER ausgewertet. SOCCER kombiniert konventionelle Datenanalyse, dynamische Zustand-Ereignis-Modellierung und künstliche Neuronale Netze. Ereignisse wie Ballgewinn oder Ballverlust werden dabei aus den Spieler- und Ballpositionen berechnet.

Beachtliche Ergebnisse lieferte hierbei u.a. die Auswertung der Raumkontrolle. Nimmt man nur die Spiele, die mit einem Abstand von mindestens zwei Toren gewonnen wurden, zeigt sich, dass die siegreichen Teams besonders im Spielaufbau deutlich höhere Werte erzielen. Zudem haben sie mehr überspielte Gegenspieler vorzuweisen, verdichten schneller nach Ballverlust, und auch bei Pässen im Angriff haben sie mehr Raum in Angriffszone und gegnerischem Strafraum gewonnen.

Verglichen wurden auch die Leistungen aller siegreichen und unterlegenen Mannschaften. In allen Pässen zwischen und innerhalb von Defensivzone und Mittelfeld weisen siegreiche Teams deutliche Vorteile im Positionsspiel auf, ebenso bei Vertikal-Pässen in der Angriffszone. Im Schnitt stehen ihnen weniger Gegenspieler gegenüber. Die Gewinner überspielen zudem mehr Gegner bei Pässen von der Verteidigung ins Mittelfeld.

Verglichen wurden zudem Teams aus dem oberen und unteren Tabellendrittel. Die erfolgreicheren Teams kontrollierten mehr Raum in der Angriffszone und im Mittelfeld. Dabei spielte besonders der Spielaufbau eine entscheidende Rolle. Folge eines guten Spielaufbaus sind mehr überspielte Gegenspieler sowie mehr Raumgewinn und eine höhere Raumkontrolle in der Angriffszone. Erfolgreichere Teams verdichten zudem schneller nach Ballverlust.

Die neuen Ergebnisse dienen als Unterstützung der Arbeit von Profikadern der Bundesliga, der Nachwuchsförderung in Nachwuchsleistungszentren und in der Trainerausbildung.
StatusAbschlussdatum
Life span01.01.1431.12.15

ID: 1267641

Dokumente

Beziehungsdiagramm anzeigen