Analysis of temporal and disortive dissociations between muscle and pulmonary oxygen uptake kinetics during dynamic exercise: theoretical considerations and practical applications

Research output: Book/ReportPost-doctoral dissertationsResearch

Authors

Details

Oxygen uptake (_O2) is a key parameter representing the performance of the aerobic metabolism. The analysis of the _O2 kinetics can be described with the help of a holistic approach that includes various aspects of physiological performance, its description and regulation for given internal (e.g., muscular fitness) and external (e.g., ambient temperature) factors.
However, the approaches used to infer muscle _O2 (_O2musc) kinetics derived using pulmonary _O2 (_O2pulm) measurements at the mouth should be taken with caution (e.g., STEP approach). Due to the time-delaying and distortive impacts of the circulatorysystem(e.g.,venousreturn,cardiacoutput[ ]dynamics),itisoftenunclear in which way _O2pulm kinetics is distorted. It is therefore necessary to adequately consider the temporal and distorting effects of venous return and dynamics between the _O2musc and _O2pulm kinetics by showing these influences on the resulting _O2pulm. This is possible for instance by the theoretical (in silico) and practical (in vivo) application of circulation models with dynamic work rate (WR) protocols (PRBS approach).
The aim of the present work is to (a) evaluate the theoretical effect of venous return and dynamics on the dissociation between _O2musc and _O2pulm kinetics, (b) examine the practical application of _O2 kinetics analysis in the field of exercise physiology, sports science, and medicine, and (c) to provide an overview of additional and potential relevant fields of application. The results can be summarized as follows, which have already been published:
(1) In silico and in vivo studies, such as re-analyses have been performed to illustrate the apparent distortion and temporal dissociation between _O2musc and _O2pulm kinetics.
(2) It was shown that _O2pulm kinetics is affected by venous return alterations based on different body positions (75°, 45°, -6°). In addition, it was demonstrated that the assessment of _O2musc and the measurement of heart rate kinetics are not influenced by different body positions.
(3) Comparing the more-common STEP approach with the novel PRBS approach to infer _O2musc kinetics results in no significant differences, but high deviations were observed. This impairs the predictability between the approaches.
(4) It was confirmed that the kinetic responses of _O2pulm and _O2musc are not significantly different when applying two different PRBS WR amplitudes with the same baseline WR in the moderate exercise intensity domain.

(5) The evaluation of upper- and lower-body exercise tolerance illustrated that significant differences should be assumed for _O2musc kinetics between the exercise modalities, which are lost in the _O2pulm kinetic response. In addition, at maximum isokinetic (concentric-eccentric) loads between upper-body (arm) and lower-body (leg) exercise, the time points of the highest arteriovenous oxygen concentration differences (avDO2) could be shown to differ significantly between arm and leg in the recovery phases.
(6) Exercise interventions (six weeks), comprising continuous and interval endurance training, showed no advantage for the speeding of the cardiorespiratory kinetics. However, a tendency for an interaction effect could be identified, assuming that interval training may speed _O2musc kinetics.
(7) Exposure at different acute ambient temperatures (15°C, 25°C, and 35°C), applied in a climatic chamber, demonstrated no impact on _O2pulm and _O2musc kinetics.
(8) Before and after prolonged weightlessness exposure on the International Space Station, _O2musc kinetics slow, accompanied by significant reductions in peak _O2, illustrating a certain coupling of the capacitive and regulatory systems of the cardiorespiratory system.
The differentiation between _O2musc and _O2pulm kinetics demonstrates that venous return and dynamics have, to a great extent, an unpredictable impact on the resultant _O2pulm. This in turn, reinforces the temporal and distortive dissociation between _O2musc and _O2pulm kinetics, which may lead to a variety interpretations, if _O2pulm is assumed, as an entire or partial response, to be a direct substitute for _O2musc kinetics. Consequently, and venous return should in general be considered whenever _O2 kinetics is analyzed or discussed.
For the future, the opportunity for other potential applications is great, and can be beneficial for the interpretation of other (physiological) variables. For instance, understanding arterial blood pressure dynamics is of interest with regards to those suffering from arterial hypertension. Additionally, application during a potential Moon or Mars mission could be a future possible use of the PRBS approach. This application could include the PRBS WR protocol, which can be used as an interval training method to maintain and improve cardiorespiratory and mental performance in long-term weightlessness exposures.
Original languageGerman
Place of PublicationKöln
PublisherDeutsche Sporthochschule Köln
Number of pages47
Publication statusPublished - 2018

ID: 5268016

Documents

View graph of relations

Analysis of temporal and disortive dissociations between muscle and pulmonary oxygen uptake kinetics during dynamic exercise: theoretical considerations and practical applications

Publikationen: Buch/BerichtWissenschaftliche Schrift zur Erlangung der Lehrberechtigung an Hochschulen und Universitäten.Forschung

AutorInnen

Details

Die Sauerstoffaufnahme (_O2) ist eine wichtige physiologische Größe, die die Leistungsfähigkeit des aeroben Metabolismus repräsentiert. Die Analyse der _O2- Kinetiken kann mit Hilfe eines ganzheitlichen Ansatzes beschrieben werden, der vielfältige Aspekte der physiologischen Leistungsfähigkeit, dessen Beschreibung und Regulation, bei gegebenen internen (z. B. muskuläre Fitness) und externen (z. B. Umgebungstemperatur) Faktoren, beinhaltet.
Ansätze, die genutzt werden, um auf die muskuläre _O2 (_O2musc) anhand der am Mund gemessenen pulmonalen _O2(_O2pulm)-Kinetik zu schließen, sollten grundsätzlich mit Vorsicht betrachtet werden (z. B. STEP-Ansatz). Aufgrund der zeitverzögernden und verzerrenden Einflüsse des Herzkreislaufsystems (z. B. venöser Rückstrom, Herzzeitvolumen[ ]-Dynamiken), ist unklar, auf welche Weise die _O2pulm zeitlich verzögert und verzerrt ist. Es ist daher notwendig, die zeitlichen und verzerrenden Effekte des venösen Rückstroms und der -Dynamiken zwischen der _O2musc- und _O2pulm-Kinetik adäquat zu berücksichtigen, indem man die jeweiligen Einflüsse auf die am Mund gemessene _O2pulm aufzeigt. Dies ist z. B. durch die theoretische (in silico) und praktische (in vivo) Anwendung von Kreislaufmodellen mit einem dynamischen Belastungsprotokoll möglich (PRBS-Ansatz).
Das Ziel der vorliegenden Arbeit ist es (a) den theoretischen Einfluss des venösen Rückstromes und der -Dynamiken auf die Dissoziation zwischen _O2musc und _O2pulm zu beurteilen, (b) praktische Anwendungen in der Leistungsphysiologie, Sportwissenschaft und der Medizin darzustellen, und (c) einen Überblick über weitere potentielle Anwendungsfelder des angewandten Verfahrens zu geben. Die Ergebnisse können wie folgt zusammengefasst werden, die bereits publiziert wurden:
(1) Theoretische und praktische Analysen weisen darauf hin, dass nicht-lineare Verzerrungen und zeitliche Dissoziationen zwischen _O2musc- und _O2pulm- Kinetiken vorliegen.
(2) Es konnte gezeigt werden, dass die _O2pulm-Kinetiken aufgrund des venösen Rückstroms bei unterschiedlichen Körperpositionen verändert sind (75°, 45°, -6°). Die _O2musc- und die Herzfrequenz-Kinetiken sind dabei nicht verändert.
(3) Der direkte Vergleich des STEP-Ansatzes mit dem PRBS-Ansatz, zeigt keinen systematischen Unterschied in der _O2musc-Kinetik. Aufgrund der großen Streuung der Daten ist eine Vorhersagbarkeit der _O2musc der beiden Verfahren deutlich eingeschränkt.
(4) Es konnte gezeigt werden, dass unterschiedliche PRBS-Leistungsamplituden, die die gleiche untere Leistungsstufe haben, keinen Unterschied in der _O2musc- und _O2pulm-Kinetik hervorrufen.
(5)Die Beurteilung der Leistungsfähigkeit von dynamischer Ober- und Unterkörperarbeit zeigt, dass sich die _O2musc-Kinetiken hinsichtlich der

Modalität unterscheiden, wobei die _O2pulm-Kinetiken nicht signifikant unterschiedlich sind. Zusätzlich konnte bei maximalen isokinetischen (konzentrisch-exzentrische) Belastungen zwischen Ober- (Arm) und Unterkörperarbeit (Bein) aufgezeigt werden, dass sich die Zeitpunkte der höchsten arteriovenösen Sauerstoffkonzentrationsdifferenzen (avDO2) signifikant zwischen Arm und Bein in den Erholungsphasen unterscheiden.
(6)Die Durchführung eines 6-wöchigen Ausdauertrainings (Intervall- und Dauermethode) zeigte keine Vorteile hinsichtlich einer Verbesserung der kardiorespiratorischen Kinetiken bezüglich der Trainingsmethoden. Jedoch wurde eine tendenzielle Verbesserung der _O2musc-Kinetiken als Interaktionseffekt gefunden, der vermuten lässt, dass Intervalltraining die _O2musc-Kinetiken beschleunigt.
(7) Der kurzfristige Aufenthalt in einer Klimakammer bei unterschiedlichen Umgebungstemperaturen (15°C, 25°C und 35°C) hat keinen Einfluss auf die _O2pulm- oder _O2musc-Kinetiken.
(8) Nach langfristigem Weltraumaufenthalt sind die _O2musc-Kinetiken verlangsamt, mit einhergehender Verringerung der maximalen _O2, was eine mögliche Verknüpfung der kapazitiven und regulierenden leistungsphysiologischen Systeme darstellt.
Die Unterscheidung von _O2musc- und _O2pulm-Kinetiken verdeutlicht, dass der venöse Rückstrom und die -Dynamiken einen deutlichen Einfluss auf die resultierende _O2pulm-Kinetik hat, der nicht vorhersagbar ist. Dies wiederum untermauert die Notwendigkeit zwischen _O2musc- und _O2pulm-Kinetiken zu unterscheiden. Die _O2pulm- Kinetiken sollten daher nicht (egal ob ganz oder teilweise) als Stellvertreter der _O2musc-Kinetiken angesehen werden, da es sonst zu Fehlinterpretationen kommen kann. Folglich sollten die -Dynamiken und der venöse Rückstrom grundsätzlich immer dann berücksichtigt werden, sobald _O2-Kinetiken analysiert und diskutiert werden.
Zukünftig kann die praktische Anwendung des Verfahrens auch für andere physiologische Parameter genutzt werden, das eine Beurteilung der Regulationseigenschaften des untersuchten physiologischen Systems erlaubt. Diesbezüglich ist das Verständnis des arteriellen Blutdruckverhaltens für Bluthochdruckpatienten hinsichtlich möglicher Trainingsempfehlungen von Interesse. Eine weitere Anwendung könnte zukünftige Mond- und Marsmissionen betreffen. Dabei könnte die Anwendung des aufgezeigten Ansatzes das PRBS-Belastungsprotokoll beinhalten, das als Intervalltrainingsmethode genutzt werden kann, um das kardiorespiratorische und mentale Leistungsvermögen bei längerfristigen Expositionen in der Schwerelosigkeit zu erhalten bzw. zu verbessern.
OriginalspracheDeutsch
ErscheinungsortKöln
Herausgeber/inDeutsche Sporthochschule Köln
Seitenumfang47
PublikationsstatusVeröffentlicht - 2018

Bibliographische Notiz

Kumulative Habilitation

ID: 5268016

Dokumente

Beziehungsdiagramm anzeigen