Application of Digital Human Modeling for the Ergonomic Evaluation of Handbrakes in Passenger Vehicles

Publications: Book/ReportDissertations

Authors

Research units

Details

Comfort is an important factor in product buying decision. Therefore vehicle manufacturers aim to develop ergonomic vehicles which minimize occupants’ discomfort. The handbrake is an essential control in vehicles. This work provides the first demonstration that the perceived discomfort of the handbrake application can reliably be predicted based on postural, biomechanical and mathematical modelling.
In two studies 117 respectively 40 subjects rated the discomfort for several handbrake variants while their motion was recorded. Afterwards, the handbrake application was modeled in the Digital Human Modeling software RAMSIS and the biomechanical software AnyBody Modeling System (AMS). Calculated biomechanical parameters included joint reactions, joint muscle moment measures, muscle activities, joint angles as well as metabolic power and energy. Stepwise regression was applied to develop a prediction model for discomfort. The herewith calculated discomfort was well in line with the subjects’ ratings (r2 = 0.96, r2adj = 0.94).
As a result, a user-friendly procedure has been proposed to quantify handbrake discomfort with DHMs which are typically available in automotive development. This method can be applied at early stages of the automotive development to enhance the ergonomics of the vehicle interior. It allows for increasing efficiency and objectivity as well as for saving resources and budget.
Original languageEnglish
Place of PublicationKöln
PublisherDeutsche Sporthochschule Köln
Number of pages299
Publication statusPublished - 2016

ID: 2909615

Documents

View graph of relations

Application of Digital Human Modeling for the Ergonomic Evaluation of Handbrakes in Passenger Vehicles

Publikationen: Buch/BerichtDissertationsschrift

AutorInnen

Forschungseinrichtungen

Details

Komfort ist ein wichtiger Faktor bei Kaufentscheidungen. Deswegen streben Fahrzeugersteller die Entwicklung ergonomischer Fahrzeuge, die den Diskomfort der Insassen minimieren, an. Die Handbremse ist ein wesentliches Bedienelement in Fahrzeugen. Diese Arbeit beinhaltet den ersten Nachweis, dass der empfundene Diskomfort bei der Betätigung der Handbremse durch Haltungssimulation sowie biomechanische und mathematische Modellierung zuverlässig vorhergesagt werden kann.
In zwei Studien beurteilten 117 beziehungsweise 40 Probanden den Diskomfort für mehrere Handbremsvarianten. Dabei wurde ihre Bewegung aufgezeichnet. Danach wurde die Handbremsbetätigung im Menschmodell RAMSIS und in der biomechanischen Software AnyBody Modeling System (AMS) simuliert. Die berechneten biomechanischen Parameter umfassen Gelenkreaktionen, Gelenkmuskelmomente, Muskelaktivitäten, Gelenkwinkel sowie metabolische Leistung und Energie. Schrittweise Regression wurde angewendet, um eine Vorhersagegleichung für den Diskomfort zu entwickeln. Der damit berechnete Diskomfort spiegelt die Bewertungen der Probanden sehr gut wieder (r2 = 0.96, r2adj = 0.94).
Somit wurde eine benutzerfreundliche Methode entwickelt, um den Handbremsdiskomfort mit Menschmodellen, welche üblicherweise in der Automobilindustrie verwendet werden, zu quantifizieren. Diese Methode kann bereits früh im Entwicklungsprozess angewendet werden, um die Ergonomie des Fahrzeuginnenraums zu verbessern. So können Effizienz und Objektivität erhöht sowie Ressourceneinsatz und Kosten reduziert werden.
OriginalspracheEnglisch
ErscheinungsortKöln
Herausgeber/inDeutsche Sporthochschule Köln
Seitenumfang299
PublikationsstatusVeröffentlicht - 2016

ID: 2909615

Dokumente

Beziehungsdiagramm anzeigen