Cardio Tennis als präventives Gesundheitstraining: Eine Studie zur Ermittlung der gesundheitsfördernden Wirkung von Cardio Tennis

Research output: Book/ReportDissertations

Authors

Research units

Details

While traditional motives to participate in sports such as success and performance have been losing in significance over the past years, the value of motives such as health and fitness has been continually increasing in today’s society. Especially the sport of tennis, which in public perception is closely associated with traditional motives, has drastically lost in value in Germany.
The concept of Cardio Tennis, a modified and movement intensive form of tennis training in groups, has been introduced as a possible adjustment in response to the changed demand of sports as well as a solution to counteract the regressive development in terms of memberships in the German Tennis Federation (DTB).
The fact that Cardio Tennis has officially been acknowledged as preventive health training supported by German health insurance providers can be seen as a milestone on the path of increasing interest and awareness for the sport of tennis being beneficial for fitness and health.
The results of the controlled intervention study over the course of five months present evidence in favor of Cardio Tennis fulfilling the requirements of preventive health training. Therefore, it can be clearly stated that the results of this study provide the significant scientific evidence required by the German association of health insurance providers (GKV-Spitzenverband für die Zertifizierung nach § 20 Abs. 4 Nr. 1 SGB V) to certify Cardio Tennis’ health promoting effectiveness.
In addition to that, the necessity of the German Tennis Federation (DTB) and its regional associations to consequently implement and institutionalize the Cardio Tennis program including the installment of qualified instructors is clearly stated in the following dissertation.
Original languageGerman
Place of PublicationKöln
PublisherDeutsche Sporthochschule Köln
Number of pages206
Publication statusPublished - 2019

ID: 3666721

View graph of relations

Cardio Tennis als präventives Gesundheitstraining: Eine Studie zur Ermittlung der gesundheitsfördernden Wirkung von Cardio Tennis

Publikationen: Buch/BerichtDissertationsschriftForschung

AutorInnen

Forschungseinrichtungen

Details

Traditionelle Sportmotive wie Erfolg und Leistung sind in den letzten Jahren immer mehr in den Hintergrund gerückt. Dagegen nehmen die Motive Gesundheit und Fitness in der heutigen Gesellschaft einen zunehmend hohen Stellenwert ein. In Deutschland hat besonders der Tennissport, der in der öffentlichen Wahrnehmung stark mit traditionellen Motiven assoziiert wird, enorm an Stellenwert verloren.
Das Konzept Cardio Tennis, ein modifiziertes bewegungsintensives Gruppen- Tennistraining, wurde als möglicher Lösungsansatz präsentiert, um den Tennissport der gewandelten Sportnachfrage anzupassen und der rückläufigen Mitgliederentwicklung des Deutschen Tennisbundes entgegenzuwirken.
Die Anerkennung als ein von den Krankenkassen gefördertes Präventionstraining wird hierfür als wichtiger Meilenstein angesehen, der dabei helfen soll, Tennis für einen erweiterten Interessentenkreis auch als Fitness- und Gesundheitssport sichtbar zu machen.
Auf Grundlage der Forschungsergebnisse einer fünf monatigen kontrollierten Interventionsstudie konnte der Nachweis erbracht werden, dass Cardio Tennis die Anforderungen eines präventiven Gesundheitstrainings erfüllt und damit den bis dato fehlenden wissenschaftlichen Nachweis der gesundheitsfördernden Wirksamkeit liefert, der vom GKV-Spitzenverband für die Zertifizierung nach § 20 Abs. 4 Nr. 1 SGB V gefordert wird.
Darüber hinaus wird aber auch die Notwendigkeit seitens des DTB und seiner Landesverbände formuliert, einer konsequenten Umsetzung der Institutionalisierung des Cardio Tennis Programms und der Sicherung der Übungsleiterqualifikation nachzukommen.
OriginalspracheDeutsch
ErscheinungsortKöln
Herausgeber/inDeutsche Sporthochschule Köln
Seitenumfang206
PublikationsstatusVeröffentlicht - 2019

ID: 3666721

Beziehungsdiagramm anzeigen