Development of intelligent wearables for the estimation of motion kinematics and kinetics

Research output: Book/ReportDissertations

Authors

Research units

Details

Motion analysis gains more and more relevance because people are interested in gaining knowledge about their performance and it is possible to collect big data easily using wearable sensors. There are also more and more ways of collecting data in daily life. Nevertheless, motion analysis providing insight into joint kinematics and kinetics is still restricted to a laboratory set-up. To overcome this, the aim of this thesis was to take the first steps towards an easy-to-use and easy-to-interpret inertial-sensor-based motion analysis sys- tem. Due to the increasing amount of data available, the approach could be based on artificial intelligence models.
Artificial neural networks can be used to approximate the relationship between given inputs and outputs. During a training process, they learn to adapt their weights and biases to predict the output of unknown test samples. This thesis investigated if it is possible to predict the three dimensional angles and moments of the hip, knee and ankle joint and the ground reaction force using artificial neural networks based on inertial data only. For this purpose, a framework to simulate inertial sensors’ data based on marker trajectories collected by an optical system was developed and validated with a custom IMU system.
The results showed a good agreement of the predicted values and the ground truth data for gait and fast changes of direction. Employing data augmentation techniques to enlarge the dataset improved the results. The use of a fully-connected feedforward neural network resulted in a better pre- diction than the use of a recurrent LSTM neural network. Nevertheless, recurrent neural networks should still be considered for future work because they are able to make real-time predictions and do not need time normalised data like fully-connected feedforward networks. In a pilot investigation, the use of a convolutional neural network also seemed to be a promising approach. However, further steps are required to validate the methods developed in this thesis and bring an intelligent inertial-sensor-based motion analysis system towards application. The very promising results of this thesis prompt further research in this direction.
Original languageEnglish
Place of PublicationKöln
PublisherDeutsche Sporthochschule Köln
Number of pages60
Publication statusPublished - 2020

ID: 5426677

Documents

View graph of relations

Development of intelligent wearables for the estimation of motion kinematics and kinetics

Publikationen: Buch/BerichtDissertationsschriftForschung

AutorInnen

Forschungseinrichtungen

Details

Die Relevanz der Bewegungsanalyse nimmt mehr und mehr zu, da Menschen daran interessiert sind, Wissen u ̈ber ihre Leistung zu erlangen und es im- mer einfacher wird, große Datenmengen mittels tragbarer Sensoren zu sam- meln. Dadurch bieten sich immer mehr Gelegenheiten im Alltag Daten zu erfassen. Dennoch ist Bewegungsanalyse, die tatsa ̈chlich Informationen u ̈ber Bewegungskinematik und -kinetik gibt, bisher an ein Labor gebunden. Um diesen Nachteil zu u ̈berwinden, zielt diese Arbeit darauf ab, erste Schritte in Richtung eines einfach zu handhabenden und leicht zu interpretierenden Be- wegungsanalysesystem basierend auf Inertialsensoren zu unternehmen. Dank der wachsenden Verfu ̈gbarkeit großer Datenmengen kann dieses Vorhaben auf Methoden der Ku ̈nstlichen Intelligenz basieren.
Ku ̈nstliche Neuronale Netze k ̈onnen die Beziehung zwischen gegebenen Eingangs- und Ausgangsgr ̈oßen anna ̈hern. W ̈ahrend eines Trainingprozesses lernen sie, Gewichte und Bias anzupassen, um Ausgangsgr ̈oßen fu ̈r unbekan- nte Testbeispiele vorherzusagen. Diese Thesis untersuchte, ob es m ̈oglich ist, dreidimensionale Winkel und Momente des Hu ̈ft-, Knie- und Fußge- lenks sowie die Bodenreaktionskraft mittels Ku ̈nstlicher Neuronaler Netze basierend auf Inertialsensoren vorherzusagen. Zu diesem Zweck wurde eine Methodik entwickelt, die Daten eines Inertialsensors basierend auf Mark- ertrajektorien, die mit einem optischen System gemessen werden k ̈onnen, simuliert. Anschließend wurde diese Methodik mittels eines individuell gefer- tigten Inertialsensorsystems validiert.
DieErgebnissezeigteneineguteU ̈bereinstimmungzwischendenvorherge- sagten und gemessenen Daten fu ̈r Gang und schnelle Richtungswechsel. Mit- hilfe von Techniken zur Vergr ̈oßerung des Datensatzes konnten die Ergebnisse verbessert werden. Die Nutzung eines fully-connected feedforward neu- ral network erzielte bessere Vorhersagen als die Nutzung eines rekurrenten LSTM neural network. Nichtsdestotrotz sollten rekurrente Neuronale Netze in zuku ̈nftigen Arbeiten weiter untersucht werden, da sie in der Lage sind, Vorhersagen in Echtzeit zu machen, wohingegen fully-connected feedforward neural networks zeitnormalisierte Daten beno ̈tigen. In ersten Pilotstudien konnten auch convolutional neural networks vielversprechende Ergebnisse liefern. Weitere Schritte sind notwendig, um die Methoden, die in dieser The- sis entwickelt wurden, zu validieren und ein intelligentes Inertialsensorsystem in die Anwendung zu bringen. Die ̈außerst vielversprechenden Ergebnisse dieser Thesis motivieren Forschung in diese Richtung.
OriginalspracheEnglisch
ErscheinungsortKöln
Herausgeber/inDeutsche Sporthochschule Köln
Seitenumfang60
PublikationsstatusVeröffentlicht - 2020

Bibliographische Notiz

Kumulative Dissertation

ID: 5426677

Dokumente

Beziehungsdiagramm anzeigen