Handstandvermittlung im Turnen: Praktische Auswirkungen forschungsgeleiteter Lehrkonzepte auf das Bewegungslernen von Novizen und Nachwuchsathleten

Research output: Book/ReportDissertationsResearch

Authors

Research units

Details

The education sector and competitive sport have in common that ever accelerating progress within short periods of time are demanded of the involved actors. Furthermore, fundamental basics represent a prerequisite for sustainable success. With this, gymnastics education at schools and universities as well as training in competitive gymnastics are characterised by these properties. Regardless of the intention of sports activities within the framework of these two settings, the teaching and the acquisition of the handstand on the floor is a fundamental in gymnastics. Considering increasing world-class standards in competitive gymnastics as well as comprehensive curricula at educational institutions, efficient teaching methods and concepts are required to gain learning progress within short periods of time. Besides developing sufficient motor imagery, handstand acquisition calls for working on an aligned rigid body configuration as well as maintenance of balance control. Aiming for optimised educational concepts on handstand acquisition, two aspects are suggested as being essential, 1: Well-accepted knowledge regarding biomechanical characteristics and postural control mechanisms of handstand performances (The “Know-that” of handstand education), 2: Well-accepted knowledge regarding the efficacy of external information (verbal, visual and/or tactile instructions and feedback strategies) for motor learning processes (The “Know-how” of handstand education). Thus, the three studies included in the present cumulative doctoral thesis address the following leading research question: What practical implications do altered educational concepts, based on biomechanical and psychological knowledge regarding the characteristics and teaching of an gymnastics skill, have on movement learning of the handstand on the floor in novices and young athletes?
Results in study I show positive effects of a visual-comparative feedback in terms of enhanced motor imagery in sport students regarding shoulder angle positioning during handstand. Furthermore, standardised tactile-verbal instructions aiming for a stabilised body line revealed enhanced shoulder angle adjustments during the practical execution of the handstand skill. Addressing the “Know-how” of handstand education, these results support the relevance of different feedback strategies for different matters of motor learning in handstand acquisition. Considering the joint-specific efficacy of explored feedback strategies in study I, the following studies II and III primarily addressed the “Know-that” of handstand education. In view of the prominent importance of wrist work (i.e., wrist strategy) for maintaining balance control in handstands, study II revealed that an exclusive postural training addressing an aligned body configuration (as it is preferred in gymnastics training) seems to be insufficient to obtain short-term increased maintenance in young athletes’ handstand performances. As a consequence of these findings in study II, study III explored the impact of explicit wrist strategy coaching on handstand performances in novices at different skill levels. For less skilled novices, the results indicate that explicit coaching of wrist usage during handstand induced increased balance times as well as enhanced postural linearity in handstands. However, handstand performances of more experienced novices with implicit knowledge regarding handstand balances remained unaffected.
To summarise, the present findings of this cumulative doctoral thesis confirm the significance of manifold external information in the form of feedback and instruction to facilitate motor learning processes in handstand acquisition. Furthermore, present findings suggest handstand teaching to focus on postural control mechanisms of handstand balances (i.e., wrist control) in order to benefit handstand performances in unexperienced learners. With respect to the targeted interventions, the short periods of time initiating enhanced handstand performances were remarkable. However, pursuing applied research is necessary to integrate the findings of the present cumulative doctoral thesis into long-lasting optimisation of practical and comprehensive handstand education.
Translated title of the contributionHandstandacquisition in gymnastics: Practical Implications of research-based educational concepts on movement learning in novices and young athletes
Original languageGerman
Place of PublicationKöln
PublisherDeutsche Sporthochschule Köln
Number of pages53
Publication statusPublished - 2019

ID: 4514127

Documents

View graph of relations

Handstandvermittlung im Turnen: Praktische Auswirkungen forschungsgeleiteter Lehrkonzepte auf das Bewegungslernen von Novizen und Nachwuchsathleten

Publikationen: Buch/BerichtDissertationsschriftForschung

AutorInnen

Forschungseinrichtungen

Details

Der Bildungssektor und der Leistungssport haben gemeinsam, dass den beteiligten Akteuren innerhalb kurzer Zeiträume immer schnellerer Fortschritt abverlangt wird, zumal fundamentale Grundlagen die Voraussetzung für nachhaltigen Erfolg verkörpern. Der Turnunterricht an Schulen und Universitäten und auch das leistungsorientierte Gerätturntraining stellen folglich zwei Gegenstandsbereiche dar, die durch diese Begebenheiten charakterisiert sind. Unabhängig von den Intentionen sportlichen Handelns im Bezugsrahmen dieser beiden Settings ist die Vermittlung und das Erlernen des Handstandes auf dem Boden als Basiselements des Turnens wesentlich. In Anbetracht steigenden Weltniveaus im leistungsorientierten Gerätturnen sowie zeitlich eng geschnürter Curricula in den Bildungseinrichtungen sind effiziente Lehrmethoden und -konzepte erforderlich, um innerhalb kurzer Zeiträume (motorischen) Lernfortschritt zu erzielen. Beim Erlernen des Handstandes stehen neben der Erarbeitung einer hinreichenden Bewegungsvorstellung die Schulung einer linearen Körperposition sowie die Aufrechterhaltung der Balancekontrolle im Fokus. Um entsprechende Lehrkonzepte zur Handstandvermittlung forschungsgeleitet zu optimieren, werden zwei Aspekte als essentiell eingestuft, 1: Fundierte Kenntnisse der biomechanischen Charakteristik und der posturalen Kontrollmechanismen des Handstandes (Das „Know-that“ der Handstandvermittlung), 2: Fundierte Kenntnisse zur Wirksamkeit externer Informationen (verbale, visuelle und/oder taktile Instruktion und Feedbackstrategien) im motorischen Lernprozess (Das „Know-how“ der Handstandvermittlung). Die drei im Rahmen der vorliegenden kumulativen Dissertationsschrift integrierten Studien stehen somit im Zeichen der folgenden leitenden Forschungsfrage: Welchen Einfluss haben verschiedene forschungsgeleitete Lehrkonzepte, basierend auf biomechanischen und psychologischen Erkenntnissen zur Charakteristik und Vermittlung einer turnerischen Fertigkeit, auf den motorischen Lernprozess von Novizen und Nachwuchsathleten beim Erlernen des Handstandes auf dem Boden?
Ergebnisse der Studie I zeigten positive Effekte eines visuell-vergleichenden Feedbacks hinsichtlich der Eigenbewegungswahrnehmung der individuellen Schulterwinkelposition im Handstand von Sportstudierenden, zumal standardisierte taktil-verbale Instruktionen zur Stabilisation der Körperlinie positive Effekte hinsichtlich eines geöffneten Arm-Rumpf-Winkels im Handstand bewirkten. Die Ergebnisse dieser Studie, die das „Know-how“ der Handstandvermittlung in den Fokus stellte, unterstreichen somit die Bedeutsamkeit unterschiedlicher Strategien der Rückmeldung für verschiedene Gegenstandsbereiche des motorischen Lernprozesses beim Erlernen des Handstandes. In Anbetracht der gelenkspezifisch zu differenzierenden Wirksamkeit der in Studie I untersuchten Rückmeldestrategien adressierten die Studien II und III primär das „Know-that“ der Handstandvermittlung. Mit Blick auf die herausragende Bedeutsamkeit der Handgelenksarbeit zur Aufrechterhaltung der Balancekontrolle im Handstand (wrist strategy) konnte mit Studie II gezeigt werden, dass eine ausschließliche, im Turntraining regelmäßig priorisierte Schulung der linear stabilisierten Körperposition nicht ausreichend zu sein scheint, um kurzfristig eine verlängerte Verweildauer im Handstand bei jungen Nachwuchsturnern realisieren zu können. In der Konsequenz dieser Erkenntnisse aus Studie II untersuchte Studie III den Einfluss einer expliziten Schulung zur Handgelenkssteuerung auf die Handstandleistung von turnunerfahrenen Novizen unterschiedlichen Leistungsniveaus. Für gänzlich unerfahrene Novizen deuten die Ergebnisse an, dass eine explizite Schulung zur Aktivierung der Handgelenkssteuerung im Handstand sowohl positive Auswirkungen auf die Verweildauer im Handstand als auch auf die Optimierung der linearen Handstandposition zu bewirken vermag. Die Handstandleistungen von Novizen mit implizit vorhandener Vorerfahrung zum Ausbalancieren des Handstandes blieben unbeeinflusst.
Zusammenfassend unterstreichen die Studienergebnisse der vorliegenden kumulativen Dissertationsschrift die Bedeutsamkeit vielfältiger externer Information in Form von Feedback und Instruktion zur Förderung motorischer Lernprozesse beim Erlernen des Handstandes. Des Weiteren weisen die Ergebnisse darauf hin, dass sich bei der Vermittlung des Handstandes eine forcierte Orientierung an den posturalen Kontrollmechanismen des Handstandes (Handgelenkssteuerung) positiv auf die Handstandleistungen unerfahrener Lernender auswirken kann. Bemerkenswert sind die kurzen Interventionszeiträume, innerhalb derer durch gezielte Intervention positive Effekte hinsichtlich verbesserter Handstandleistungen erzielt werden konnten. Dennoch ist weiterführende Forschung erforderlich, um die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse aus der vorliegenden kumulativen Dissertationsschrift nachhaltig in eine fundierte Optimierung der praktischen und ganzheitlichen Handstandvermittlung integrieren zu können.
Titel in ÜbersetzungHandstandacquisition in gymnastics: Practical Implications of research-based educational concepts on movement learning in novices and young athletes
OriginalspracheDeutsch
ErscheinungsortKöln
Herausgeber/inDeutsche Sporthochschule Köln
Seitenumfang53
PublikationsstatusVeröffentlicht - 2019

Bibliographische Notiz

Kumulative Dissertation

ID: 4514127

Dokumente

Beziehungsdiagramm anzeigen