Myozelluläre Stressantwort: Regulation von αB-Crystallin infolge von akutem und chronischem krafttrainings-induziertem mechanischem Stress

Research output: Book/ReportDissertationsResearch

Authors

Research units

Details

The ability of skeletal muscle to withstand the stress generated by contractile activity is fundamental to maintaining its functional capacity throughout the life span. During the evolutionary process, various strategies developed in myocytes for this purpose. Resulting from a stress event, in the first instance, the acute stress response ensures the homeostasis and consequently the functionality of the cells. Repeated stress events lead to a persistent expansion of the compensation capacities or to adaptation. The specific type of adaptation is directly related to the characteristic of the induced stress. This stress, in turn, is in the physiological sense only identifiable by the specificity of the stress response. Thus, a sufficient understanding of targeted muscular adaptation is inseparably linked to a comprehensive understanding of the regulation of the molecular stress response.
A key player in the myocellular immediate protection mechanism is αB-Crystallin (CRYAB), an ATP- independent chaperone belonging to the family of small heat shock proteins. As such, the protein has a cytoprotective function by "capturing" unfolding or misfolded proteins, therefore preventing their irreversible aggregation and, in cooperation with other ATP-dependent chaperones, leading them to renaturation or autophagosomal degradation. It is known from skeletal muscle that CRYAB translocates from the cytosol to cytoskeletal structures and associates with these as a result of contraction-induced stress, thereby stabilizing and protecting against potential (further) damage. In the human skeletal muscle, the mechanical stress component seems to be the most important factor for the induction of CRYAB due to contractile activity. An essential factor for the function and thus the cytoprotective properties of CRYAB is its phosphorylation on serine 59.
The aim of the present work was to generate a comprehensive understanding of the regulation of CRYAB in response to resistance exercise-induced mechanical stress. Due to the heterogeneity of skeletal muscle tissue with respect to its fiber types (type I, IIA, IIX) and the resulting functional properties, it was also intended to generate a fiber type-specific image of CRYAB-regulation. The investigation of the regulation included the phosphorylation of CRYAB at serine 59 (pCRYABS59), the expression of total CRYAB and its translocation or association with cytoskeletal structures.
Therefore, in a first study, the regulation of CRYAB was investigated under the influence of different loading types and thus different levels of contraction-induced mechanical stress, as well as different stress volumes(73). The focus was on the acute response of CRYAB following single, non-repetitive stress. Based on these findings, the influence of chronic stress on acute CRYAB-regulation was examined. It was investigated whether the acute myocellular stress response is modified as a result of systematic repetitive stress as well as of a temporary termination of this stress. Assuming that systematically repeated stress exposure leads to an adaptation in the sense of an increased resistance to the stressor, the interest was focused on possible factors that could contribute to this potential myocellular mechanical stress resistance. For this purpose, it was determined whether the type III 5
intermediary filament desmin, which is an important structural protein involved in lateral force transmission, is upregulated in the course of repeated resistance exercise stimuli.
In summary, we could show that resistance exercise-associated stress leads to a strong increase in pCRYABS59, for which the mechanical stress component is essential. Systematic repetition of exercise leads to a successive attenuation of the pCRYABS59-response and increases the amount of desmin; however, if regular stress exposure of the muscle is terminated for a certain period of time, the amount of desmin decreases and the pCRYABS59-response increases again as a result of renewed exercise. Thus, the pCRYABS59-signal appears to follow the amount of desmin in a kind of inverse relationship. In the course of this, it seems that high mechanical stress in particular promotes the increase in desmin. Furthermore, the pCRYABS59 response and the translocation of CRYAB are fiber type-specific and depend on the type of loading applied. In detail, while pCRYABS59 increases in Type I fibers as a result of loadings with low as well as with high external resistances, an increase in Type II fibers can only be observed as a result of loadings with high external resistances. In general, CRYAB is phosphorylated due to the accumulation of a certain load volume (multiple sets). Moreover, an increased loading volume can promote the phosphorylation of CRYAB in type II fibers, even if the pure intensity (level of external resistance) per se is relatively low.
We conclude that the acute myocellular stress defense response in the form of phosphorylation of CRYAB at serine 59 appropriately indicates the influence of contraction-induced mechanical stress at the single-fiber level. Furthermore, CRYAB reflects the desensitization of myocytes to repeated mechanical stress as well as their resensitization in the absence of regular stimulation. A dynamic process of building and breaking down the cytoskeletal desmin network is used to adapt to the changing requirements of myocellular resistance to mechanical stress. On the one hand, these findings serve to understand the function of CRYAB in the context of the stress defense reaction under practically relevant in vivo conditions. On the other hand, they can help to differentiate between more and less effective types of exercise for the induction of acute stress as well as chronic adaptation of muscle fibers. In the context of applied exercise science, the knowledge of cause-effect relationships (load-adaptation) is thus expanded, which makes it possible to control training more precisely on the basis of physiological observations over time.
Original languageGerman
Place of PublicationKöln
PublisherDeutsche Sporthochschule Köln
Number of pages56
Publication statusPublished - 03.2021

ID: 5906906

Documents

View graph of relations

Myozelluläre Stressantwort: Regulation von αB-Crystallin infolge von akutem und chronischem krafttrainings-induziertem mechanischem Stress

Publikationen: Buch/BerichtDissertationsschrift

AutorInnen

Forschungseinrichtungen

Details

Die Fähigkeit der Skelettmuskulatur, dem durch kontraktile Aktivität generierten Stress zu widerstehen, ist grundlegend für die Erhaltung ihrer Funktionsfähigkeit während der gesamten Lebensspanne. Im Laufe des Evolutionsprozesses haben Myozyten zu diesem Zweck diverse Strategien entwickelt. Infolge eines Stressereignisses wird in erster Instanz über die akute Stressantwort die Homöostase und folglich die Funktionsfähigkeit der Zellen gesichert, wobei wiederholte Stressereignisse zu einer persistenten Erweiterung der Kompensationskapazitäten bzw. zu einer Anpassung führen. Die spezifische Art der Anpassung hängt in direkter Weise mit der Ausprägung des induzierten Stresses zusammen. Dieser als solcher wiederum ist im physiologischen Sinne ausschließlich über die Spezifik der Stressantwort identifizierbar. Damit ist ein hinreichendes Verständnis zielgerichteter muskulärer Anpassung untrennbar mit einem umfassenden Verständnis der Regulation der molekularen Stressantwort verbunden.
Ein Hauptakteur des myozellulären Sofortschutzmechanismus ist αB-Crystallin (CRYAB), ein zur Familie der kleinen Hitzeschockproteine gehörendes ATP-unabhängiges Chaperon. Als solches besitzt das Protein eine zytoprotektive Funktion, indem es sich entfaltende bzw. fehlgefaltete Proteine „einfängt“, so deren irreversible Aggregation verhindert und sie in Kooperation mit weiteren, ATP-abhängigen Chaperonen ihrer Renaturierung oder aber dem autophagosomalen Abbau zuführt. Aus dem Skelettmuskel ist bekannt, dass CRYAB infolge von kontraktionsinduziertem Stress aus dem Zytosol hin zu zytoskelettalen Strukturen transloziert und mit diesen assoziiert, wodurch eine Stabilisierung und somit ein Schutz vor potenzieller (weiterer) Schädigung einhergeht. Dabei scheint im humanen Skelettmuskel vor allem die mechanische Stresskomponente für die Induzierung von CRYAB infolge kontraktiler Aktivität ausschlaggebend zu sein. Ein wesentlicher Faktor für die Funktion und damit die zytoprotektiven Eigenschaften von CRYAB ist seine Phosphorylierung an Serin 59.
Ziel der vorliegenden Arbeit war es, ein umfassendes Verständnis über die Regulation von CRYAB infolge von krafttrainingsinduziertem mechanischen Stress zu generieren. Aufgrund der Heterogenität des Skelettmuskelgewebes hinsichtlich seiner Fasertypen (Typ I, IIA, IIX) und damit einhergehenden funktionellen Eigenschaften, war es ferner das Ziel, ein fasertypspezifisches Abbild der CRYAB- Regulation zu erzeugen. Die Untersuchung der Regulation umfasste die Phosphorylierung von CRYAB an Serin 59 (pCRYABS59), die Expression des totalen CRYAB, sowie seine Translokation bzw. Assoziation mit Strukturen des Zytoskeletts.
Hierfür wurde in einer ersten Studie die Regulation von CRYAB unter dem Einfluss verschiedener Belastungsarten und damit unterschiedlich hohem kontraktionsinduzierten mechanischen Stress sowie verschiedener Belastungsvolumina untersucht (73). Im Fokus stand dabei die Akutantwort von CRYAB infolge von singulärem, sich nicht wiederholendem Stress. Anknüpfend an die dadurch gewonnenen Erkenntnisse wurde nachfolgend der Einfluss von chronischer Belastung auf die akute 3
CRYAB-Regulation behandelt. Es wurde untersucht, ob die akute myozelluläre Stressantwort infolge von systematisch wiederholter Belastung sowie einer temporären Aussetzung derselben modifiziert wird. Ausgehend von der Annahme, dass eine systematisch wiederholte Stressexposition zu einer Anpassung im Sinne einer erhöhten Resistenz gegenüber dem Stressor führt, galt das Interesse möglichen Faktoren, die zu dieser potenziellen myozellulären mechanischen Stressresistenz beitragen könnten. Hierzu wurde ermittelt, ob das Typ III Intermediärfilament Desmin, ein wichtiges Strukturprotein, das u.a. an der lateralen Kraftübertragung beteiligt ist, im Zuge wiederholter Krafttrainingsreize eine Hochregulierung erfährt.
Zusammenfassend konnten wir zeigen, dass krafttrainingsassoziierte Belastung zu einem starken Anstieg der pCRYABS59 führt, wofür die mechanische Stresskomponente wesentlich ist. Bei systematischer Wiederholung der Belastung kommt es zu einer sukzessiven Abschwächung der pCRYABS59-Antwort und Zunahme der Desminmenge; wird jedoch die regelmäßige Belastungsexposition des Muskels für eine gewisse Zeit ausgesetzt, nimmt die Desminmenge wieder ab- und die pCRYABS59-Antwort zu, infolge erneuter Belastung. Somit stellt es sich dar, als würde das pCRYABS59 Signal der Desminmenge in einer Art inverser Beziehung folgen. Dabei scheint vor allem hoher mechanischer Stress die Desminzunahme zu fördern. Die pCRYABS59-Antwort sowie die Translokation von CRYAB sind fasertypspezifisch und abhängig von der Art der Belastung. Konkreter bedeutet dies, dass während die pCRYABS59 in Typ I Fasern infolge von Belastungen sowohl gegen relativ niedrige als auch gegen hohe äußere Widerstände ansteigt, ein Anstieg in Typ II Fasern lediglich durch hohen Widerstände zu beobachten ist. Grundsätzlich wird CRYAB infolge der Akkumulation eines gewissen Belastungsvolumens (multipler Sätze) phosphoryliert (73). Dabei kann ein erhöhtes Belastungsvolumen die Phosphorylierung von CRYAB in Typ II Fasern begünstigen, auch wenn die reine Intensität (Höhe des äußeren Widerstandes) per se, relativ niedrig ist.
Daraus folgern wir, dass die akute myozelluläre Stressabwehrreaktion in Form der Phosphorylierung von CRYAB an Serin 59, in geeigneter Weise den Einfluss von kontraktionsinduziertem mechanischen Stress, auf Einzelfaserebene anzeigt. Des Weiteren reflektiert CRYAB dabei die Desensibilisierung der Myozyten gegenüber wiederholtem mechanischen Stress, sowie ihre Resensibilisierung im Zuge des Ausbleibens regelmäßiger Stimulation. Ein dynamischer Prozess des Auf- und Abbaus des zytoskelettalen Desminnetzwerkes dient dabei der Anpassung an diese sich ändernden Anforderungen myozellulärer Resistenz gegenüber mechanischem Stress. Diese Erkenntnisse dienen zum einen dem Verständnis der Funktion des Proteins im Rahmen der Stressabwehrreaktion unter praxisrelevanten in vivo Bedingungen. Zum anderen helfen sie dabei, die Effekte diverser akuter Belastungen sowie chronischer Be- und Entlastungsphasen hinsichtlich ihrer fasertypspezifischen sowie zeitlichen Ausprägung besser zu verstehen.
OriginalspracheDeutsch
ErscheinungsortKöln
VerlagDeutsche Sporthochschule Köln
Seitenumfang56
PublikationsstatusVeröffentlicht - 03.2021

Bibliographische Notiz

Kumulative Dissertation

ID: 5906906

Dokumente

Beziehungsdiagramm anzeigen