Sportbezogener Protest gegen die Apartheid in Südafrika 1956-1992

Research output: Book/ReportDissertationsResearch

Authors

Research units

Details

The present work belongs to the research field of transnational sport history. By means of a historical comparison, it will be examined what characterized sport- related protests in South Africa, but also international protests, against the apartheid regime in the 1960s, 1970s and 1980s, and what political positions various social and societal actors took in the face of this form of resistance. In addition to South Africa, Great Britain, the Federal Republic of Germany and the German Democratic Republic were chosen as case studies. In particular, the attitudes of the governments of the respective countries, selected sports associations and newspapers as well as the Anti-Apartheid Movement founded in England in 1959 are examined. In addition, the interactions and cooperation of the above-mentioned actors in their fight against apartheid in sport are analyzed - insofar as they were involved in it.
The study focuses on the period from 1956 to 1992. The exclusion of the South African Table Tennis Federation from the International Table Tennis Federation in 1956 as a result of discrimination against members of non-white population groups the apartheid system represents a significant break in the international approach to racial segregation in sport. Following South Africa's exclusion from the Olympic Movement in 1970, which was followed by numerous exclusions from international sports federations, South Africa was almost completely isolated from international sport. The country's return to the global sports community was sealed with its participation in the 1992 Olympic Games in Barcelona.
There have been only a few scientific publications on the attitude of social and political actors towards protests against apartheid. On the part of research, however, intensive transnational activities of civil society actors, especially the Western European anti-apartheid movement, are noted. Sometimes even the emergence of a "global civil society" is assumed to be the result of transnational protests by this movement.
Central methods of the work are, in addition to historical comparison and qualitative interviews with experts, a detailed document and discourse analysis of debates on apartheid in sport and sport-related protests against this system in the countries studied. The present study asks about central statements, argumentation structures and positions in these debates. The main aim of the study is to provide an independent assessment of the extent and central characteristics of transnational networks of actors resisting apartheid, particularly in sports.
Original languageGerman
Place of PublicationBaden-Baden
PublisherAcademia Verlag
Number of pages464
ISBN (Print)978-3-89665-909-5
ISBN (Electronic)978-3-89665-910-1
Publication statusPublished - 2020

Publication series

NameStadion
VolumeSonderband

ID: 5560987

View graph of relations

Sportbezogener Protest gegen die Apartheid in Südafrika 1956-1992

Publikationen: Buch/BerichtDissertationsschriftForschung

AutorInnen

Forschungseinrichtungen

Details

Die vorliegende Arbeit gehört dem Forschungsfeld der transnationalen Sportgeschichte an. Mittels eines historischen Vergleichs wird untersucht, wodurch die sportbezogenen Proteste in Südafrika, aber auch internationale Proteste gegen das Apartheid-Regime in den 1960er, 1970er und 1980er Jahren charakterisiert waren und welche politischen Positionen verschiedene soziale und gesellschaftliche Akteure dieser Form des Widerstands gegenüber einnahmen. Als Fallbeispiele wurden neben Südafrika das Vereinigte Königreich, die Bundesrepublik Deutschland und die DDR gewählt. Es wird insbesondere die Haltung der Regierungen der jeweiligen Länder, ausgewählter Sportverbände und Zeitungen sowie der 1959 in England gegründeten Anti-Apartheid Movement untersucht. Darüber hinaus werden die Interaktionen und Kooperationen der genannten Akteure in ihrem Kampf gegen die Apartheid im Sport analysiert – sofern sie sich hieran beteiligten.
Die Studie konzentriert sich auf den Zeitraum von 1956 bis 1992. Der Ausschluss der South African Table Tennis Federation aus der International Table Tennis Federation im Jahr 1956 infolge der Diskriminierung von Angehörigen nichtweißer Bevölkerungsgruppen durch Vertreter des Apartheidsystems stellt eine bedeutende Zäsur im internationalen Umgang mit der Rassentrennung im Sport dar. Nach dem Ausschluss Südafrikas aus der Olympischen Bewegung im Jahr 1970, dem zahlreiche Ausschlüsse aus internationalen Sportverbänden folgten, war Südafrika nahezu vollständig vom internationalen Sport isoliert. Mit der Teilnahme an den Olympischen Spielen 1992 in Barcelona wurde die Rückkehr des Landes in den internationalen Sport besiegelt.
Zur Haltung gesellschaftlicher und politischer Akteure zu Protesten gegen die Apartheid gibt es bisher nur wenige wissenschaftliche Publikationen. Vonseiten der Forschung werden jedoch intensive transnationale Aktivitäten zivilgesellschaftlicher Akteure, insbesondere der westeuropäischen Anti-Apartheid-Bewegung, konstatiert. Bisweilen wird gar das Entstehen einer „global civil society” als Folge transnationaler Proteste durch diese Bewegung angenommen.
Zentrale Methoden der Arbeit sind neben dem historischen Vergleich und qualitativen Experteninterviews eine ausführliche Dokumenten- und Diskursanalyse von in den untersuchten Ländern geführten Debatten über die Apartheid im Sport und über die sportbezogenen Proteste gegen dieses System. In der vorliegenden Studie wird nach zentralen Aussagen, Argumentationsstrukturen und Standpunkten in diesen Debatten gefragt. Wesentliches Ziel der Arbeit ist eine eigenständige Bewertung des Ausmaßes und der zentralen Merkmale transnationaler Vernetzungen apartheidkritischer Akteure.
OriginalspracheDeutsch
ErscheinungsortBaden-Baden
VerlagAcademia Verlag
Seitenumfang464
ISBN (Print)978-3-89665-909-5
ISBN (elektronisch)978-3-89665-910-1
PublikationsstatusVeröffentlicht - 2020

Publikationsreihe

NameStadion
BandSonderband

Bibliographische Notiz

zugl. Diss. DSHS 2018

ID: 5560987

Beziehungsdiagramm anzeigen