The role of organizational capacity in explaining individual behavior in nonprofit sports clubs

Research output: Book/ReportDissertationsResearch

Authors

Research units

Details

Individual behavior depends on individual characteristics. From a theoretical perspec- tive, individual behavior also depends on contextual factors as it occurs within a cer- tain surrounding. To nonprofit sports clubs, this means that individual behavior in terms of voluntary engagement and the payment of a membership fee are connected to organizational factors. As an increasing number of nonprofit sports clubs suffers from a declining number of volunteers and members, understanding the relationship be- tween individual and contextual factors is essential to their existence.
Consequently, it is valuable to nonprofit sports clubs, and eventually to the societies in which they operate, to identify the organizational factors related to volunteering and the willingness to pay for a membership. Empirical research on the relationship be- tween individual behavior of sports club members and attributes of nonprofit sports club is limited. Studies either fail to include organizational factors with theoretical reasoning, to ground their management implications on sufficient data, or to analyze these by taking the dependence between individual- and organizational-level factors into account.
The present work sheds light on the relationship between individual behavior of nonprofit sports club members and its organizational context by including data on both levels. Three studies demonstrate the usefulness of multi-level modeling by merging survey data from German sports clubs and their members. Based on the concept of organizational capacity of nonprofit and voluntary organizations, results suggest that human resources, financial, and structural capacities of nonprofit sports clubs are sig- nificantly related to decisions of adult members and parents of underage members: the decision to volunteer, the amount of time devoted to voluntary work, and the specific voluntary role. Also, differences between formal and informal volunteering are iden- tified.
Using contingent valuation method to elicit willingness-to-pay, results further show that the organizational capacity of nonprofit sports clubs is significantly connected to the willingness-to-pay for a club membership. Overall, this work supports the notion that the organizational context is relevant to individual behavior. Multi-level models identify the specific contextual factors related to it and allow the formulation of impli- cations that could guide management in securing the future existence of their sports club.
Original languageGerman
Place of PublicationKöln
PublisherDeutsche Sporthochschule Köln
Number of pages30
Publication statusPublished - 2019

ID: 4746500

Documents

View graph of relations

The role of organizational capacity in explaining individual behavior in nonprofit sports clubs

Publikationen: Buch/BerichtDissertationsschrift

AutorInnen

Forschungseinrichtungen

Details

Individuelles Verhalten hängt von individuellen Faktoren ab. Theoretisch betrachtet hängt individuelles Verhalten außerdem von Kontextfaktoren ab, da es in einer be- stimmten Umgebung stattfindet. Für gemeinnützige Sportvereine bedeutet dies, dass individuelles Verhalten in Form ehrenamtlichen Engagements oder der Zahlung eines Mitgliedschaftsbeitrages auch von organisationalen Faktoren abhängt. Weil Sportver- eine zunehmend unter einer sinkenden Anzahl ehrenamtlicher Mitarbeiter und Mit- glieder leiden, ist es essentiell für die künftige Existenz dieser Vereine, den Zusam- menhang zwischen individuellen und organisationalen Faktoren zu verstehen.
Es ist von Wert für Sportvereine und die Gesellschaften, in denen diese operieren, die organisationalen Attribute zu identifizieren, die mit dem ehrenamtlichen Engage- ment und der Zahlungsbereitschaft für Mitgliedschaftsbeiträge zusammenhängen. Em- pirische Untersuchungen zur Beziehung zwischen individuellem Verhalten und den Eigenschaften von Sportvereinen sind bisher nur bedingt vorhanden. Studien scheitern beispielsweise daran, die organisationalen Faktoren basierend auf theoretischen Be- gründungen zu modellieren, die Implikationen für das Vereinsmanagement auf adä- quaten Daten zu fußen oder bei deren Analyse die Abhängigkeit zwischen individuel- len und organisationalen Faktoren zu berücksichtigen.
In der vorliegenden Arbeit wird die Beziehung zwischen individuellem Verhalten von Sportvereinsmitgliedern und organisationalen Faktoren an Hand von Daten auf beiden Ebenen untersucht. Drei Studien, die Daten deutscher Sportvereine und deren Mitgliedern analysieren, bestätigen die Eignung von Mehrebenen-Modellen in diesem Zusammenhang. Basierend auf dem Konzept der Organisationalen Kapazität zeigen die Ergebnisse, dass Humanressourcen, finanzielle und strukturelle Kapazität von Sportvereinen mit den individuellen Entscheidungen erwachsener Mitglieder sowie der Eltern minderjähriger Mitglieder zusammenhängen: Mit der Entscheidung, sich ehrenamtlich im Sportverein zu betätigen sowie mit dem zeitlichen Ausmaß dieses Engagements und der spezifischen ehrenamtlichen Rolle. Zudem bestehen Unter- schiede zwischen formellem und informellem Ehrenamt.
Darüber hinaus wurde die Contingent Valuation Method angewendet, um die Zah- lungsbereitschaft für eine Sportvereinsmitgliedschaft zu ermitteln und sie anschlie- ßend hinsichtlich ihrer Beziehung zu organisationalen Faktoren zu analysieren. Die Ergebnisse zeigen, dass auch die Zahlungsbereitschaft mit der Organisationalen Ka- pazität zusammenhängt. Insgesamt stützen die Untersuchungen die theoretische Aus- sage, dass der organisationale Kontext und individuelles Verhalten miteinander ver- bunden sind. Anhand von Mehrebenen-Modelle konnten spezifische Kontextfaktoren ermittelt werden, die die Ableitung von Managementimplikationen ermöglicht.
OriginalspracheDeutsch
ErscheinungsortKöln
Herausgeber/inDeutsche Sporthochschule Köln
Seitenumfang30
PublikationsstatusVeröffentlicht - 2019

Bibliographische Notiz

Kumulative Dissertation

ID: 4746500

Dokumente

Beziehungsdiagramm anzeigen